The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Dribble Clarification. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/73982-double-dribble-clarification.html)

holyrune Tue Jul 05, 2011 12:36pm

Double Dribble Clarification.
 
Let me preface this by saying I am not an official or referee. I just play in a pickup 5-on-5 basketball league, and there was a contentious call at the end of the game.

The opposing player has his dribble alive. He jab steps right, spreads his legs a bit too far while keeping his left pivot foot firmly planted. He then regains his balance by touching the ball on the floor with both hands firmly grasped on the ball, without bouncing it. Does that constitute a dribble? I ask because he was called for a double dribble by the referee after driving to the basket.

dsqrddgd909 Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:19pm

They have referees for pick up basketball?

bainsey Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:28pm

Here's what I visualize:

Quote:

Originally Posted by holyrune (Post 770562)
The opposing player has his dribble alive.

So, the dribble has started.

Quote:

He then regains his balance by touching the ball on the floor with both hands firmly grasped on the ball, without bouncing it.
Sounds to me like the dribble ended, as he held the ball.

Quote:

I ask because he was called for a double dribble by the referee after driving to the basket.
So, he started another dribble. Violation.

FYI, you mentioned a pivot foot during a dribble. If one is dribbling, there is no
pivot foot until the dribble has ended.

APG Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:32pm

No, that does not constitute a dribble. In fact, the player could repeat what he did as many times as he wanted (sans other types of violation). This is true under NFHS (high school), NCAA, and NBA rules.

mbyron Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 770577)
So, he started another dribble. Violation.

Are you sure? What provision of the dribble rule says he started a dribble by holding the ball and then (while still holding it) touched it to the floor?

APG Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:34pm

Bainsey, I took it to mean that the player hadn't dribbled yet. If he had dribbled, then I agree that the player grabbing the ball with both hands ended the dribble. As soon as he dribbled again, we'd have an illegal/double dribble violation.

bob jenkins Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 770577)
Here's what I visualize:


So, the dribble has started.

Visualize again. The OP means "the player has not yet dribbled."

bainsey Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 770579)
Are you sure?

I took it to mean he started another dribble upon saying....

Quote:

I ask because he was called for a double dribble by the referee after driving to the basket.
Granted, not all drives require dribbling, but that's what I visualized here via context.

holyrune Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 770575)
They have referees for pick up basketball?

Yeah, we pay for the court and the ref for a two-hour allotment.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 770577)
Here's what I visualize:

FYI, you mentioned a pivot foot during a dribble. If one is dribbling, there is no
pivot foot until the dribble has ended.


I should have worded "dribble alive," as in he can still dribble or has not started his dribble. He received the pass, jab stepped right twice, using the left foot as a pivot. The second jab step caused him to spread his legs too wide, so while holding the ball with both hands, he used the ball to touch the floor and balance himself without bouncing the ball. He then drove to the hoop. He was subsequently called for double dribble.

dsqrddgd909 Tue Jul 05, 2011 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by holyrune (Post 770562)
Let me preface this by saying I am not an official or referee. I just play in a pickup 5-on-5 basketball league, and there was a contentious call at the end of the game.

The opposing player has his dribble alive. He jab steps right, spreads his legs a bit too far while keeping his left pivot foot firmly planted. He then regains his balance by touching the ball on the floor with both hands firmly grasped on the ball, without bouncing it. Does that constitute a dribble? I ask because he was called for a double dribble by the referee after driving to the basket.

Link to Article
4.15 COMMENT:

It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once.

holyrune Tue Jul 05, 2011 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 770589)
Link to Article
4.15 COMMENT:
It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once.

Thanks. This more than clarifies the issue. We ended up winning the game b/c of the call. If I see the ref next week, I will mention this forum :)

Raymond Tue Jul 05, 2011 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by holyrune (Post 770590)
Thanks. This more than clarifies the issue. We ended up winning the game b/c of the call. If I see the ref next week, I will mention this forum :)

You've broken forum etiquette. :eek:

Never ask about a questionable call from which you or your team benefitted.

bainsey Tue Jul 05, 2011 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by holyrune (Post 770588)
I should have worded "dribble alive," as in he can still dribble or has not started his dribble.

No problem, sir. I was apparently the only one who didn't comprehend that. My apologies for any mix-up.

Quote:

We ended up winning the game b/c of the call.
Never believe this. You played a lot more than this one play, and a winner is always determined via the sum of the entire game.

just another ref Tue Jul 05, 2011 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 770593)
Never ask about a questionable call from which you or your team benefitted.

When did this ever happen before? The vast majority don't notice/remember bad calls in their favor.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1