![]() |
B1 is standing in the lane, not moving with his bent arms up. He does not move. A1 drives in the lane and his shooting hand brushes across the hans/arm that has not moved
My partner in the lead blows and calls a foul on B1. I'm in the trail. I discussed this with him at half time. He said this is clearly a foul on B1. I agreed it was not a charge- but for me this was Incidental contact- no call. He agreed that the hand/arm/ body did not move. So is the call on A1 on B1 no call Stew in Virginia CVBOA http://www.crboa.org Yes we have a web site now! Great going Central Virginia! |
Advantage/Disadvantage. I would not call this foul unless there was enough contact to give B1 an advantage and that does not seem to be the case. My Opinion: No Call!
|
Wouldn't the principle of verticality apply here? I guess the situation would depend on how far B1 had his arms extended away from his body...moving or not.
Dave |
Quote:
Stew |
If the arms/hands were not within the defender's vertical plane, it would be a foul if the offensive player was placed at a disadvantage.
|
Quote:
Stew |
Imagine that his arms were extended straight out, like a 60 second timeout signal. Would that be a foul if the same thing happened? I would think so. If his arms are in the poisition you originally described, you just have to judge whether he was within his vertical plane or not and if there is a disadvantage.
Simple, eh? :) |
Quote:
SO to answer my own question- Defense not legal Arms not vertical- offense at at disavantage because of the illegal defense- foul on B1- partner got it right Stewart |
Quote:
You gonna call it? I hafta see it. |
Gotta see it, too, to make that judgment. But I have called it. It's no different than a player who has arms straight up and then moves them over the shooter, who makes contact when he/she goes up. Tweet! Foul.
|
Quote:
I just don't like bailng a shooter out that's forcing contact on a defender. ;) |
If B1's arms were in the vertical plane...nothing. Even if the contact with A1's arm was severe, there is no foul on B1. B1 was in a textbook legal guarding position. You may have a foul on A1, however.
On the point of verticality, it does NOT mean that the arms have to be <em>ruler</em> vertical, just generally up above the torso area. |
Quote:
I think stewcall said "slightly bent". (I suppose that could be judged "slightly" differently depending on which side of the table a guy was sitting.) |
Quote:
|
I agree with Mick
If we are A, it was clearly a foul - B1 needs to play proper defense. If we are B, that was one heck of a defensive play and A1 should be more careful :D
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55am. |