The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 10, 2000, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust:

There is a specific exception for a throwin where it allows a player to land with one or both feet in the backcourt. To qualify, the landing must be normal. It is possible that you could have a violation if the landing is not normal and the first foot down is in the frontcourt and the second down is in the back. It would be a judgement as to whether it would be a violation or not. I would determine it based on whether the player has established a stable and controlled position on that first foot and the second foot's contact is in a seperate action and delayed from the first.




If the ball is caught in the air on an in-bounds pass, the player can land however he needs to--that is, BOTH feet can come down wherever they come down, even if one is first in the frontcourt and then the second ends up on the division line or further into the backcourt. I'm not clear on how someone could land on one foot and establish a "stable and controlled position" on that one foot without the second foot landing as part of the same act. So, no violation . . . yet. But, if he then pivots on the frontcourt foot by lifting the backcourt foot, he can't put it BACK down in the backcourt. If he does, it's an over-and-back violation. This stuff CAN get tricky sometimes, eh?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1