The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 05, 2000, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 11
Post

quote:
Originally posted by number 26:
coaching a 7th grade boys game this weekend. our player shoots a long 2. hits the
rim. ricochets to another of our players. he bats it back - beyond the half court line into our back court. our player grabs it. ref blows whistle. over and back is the call.
is this the right call?



After the shot was taken, team control had been lost. While the ball is being batted around, no team control has been re-established. Putting myself in the ref's shoes who made the call, he must've determined that it was a "controlled" batting of the ball. If your player intentionally batted it to his teammate knowing that he could retrieve it cleanly in the backcourt, then I believe the referee must have determined that the act was no different than catching the ball and throwing it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1