The following situation was relayed to me by another official:
Just over 1:00 minute left in 15-point game. Team A (losing) has a player DQ for 5 fouls. Official informs coach & player then asks for 30-seconds on clock. Coach A asks official if he can finish game with 4 players. Team A has 7 players on bench that can come into game. Assistant Coach A asks head coach, "What the &%#$ are you doing?"
What does rule book say about this? Also, what do you do as official?
The official was not sure if the coach was doing this to be a smart-*** toward him or if he was mad at his team. The official just said, "OK" and they finished the game with 4 players.
|