![]() |
I have a couple of questions regarding the shot clock that I keep getting conflicting rulings on from fellow officials, so I figured I would let the board decide...
Play #1: A1 shoots the ball and it becomes lodged between the ring and backboard. Using the AP rule, team A has the arrow and retains control. Is the shot clock reset? On the one side, one could argue that the shot hit the rim (since it is stuck in it) and therefore should be reset. On the other side, one could argue that since we go to the AP procedure to determine team control, if the offensive team keeps the ball, no reset is given. Play #2: B1, standing in the corner outside the 3-point line in the front court, passes the ball across court to B2 in the opposite corner. The ball inadvertantly hits the rim during the pass and deflects directly to B3. Is the shot clock reset since the ball hit the rim? As far as I know, the shot clock is only reset when a shot attempt hits the rim and therefore no reset is warranted. However if you look at a rule change from a couple of years ago, had this ball gone in, it would count as 3 points and not 2 even though it was not considered a shot attempt (rule change was designed to cover those instances when alley-oop passes accidentally go in). Does this have any imapct on shot clock rulings? My questions are specific to high school rules, but all comments are appreciated. Thanks. |
Quote:
Quote:
Since the Fed does not have any rules for shot-clock use, we use NCAA rules. Check NCAA 2-13. Chuck |
Eric!
Nice to see you back in the forum...
Chuck is on the $ in both respects...don't think so much! CH |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am. |