The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   women's,FT,Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7237-womens-ft-foul.html)

Bart Tyson Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:27am

A1 has ball in hand for 1st of 2-shot FT, A2 fouls B1. What do we do?

Hawks Coach Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:54am

Rule 4, SECTION 19 FOUL
ART. 7 . . . Double fouls:
a. A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time.
ART. 8 . . . A false double foul is a situation in which there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.

Summary of Penalties for All Fouls
7. In case of a false double foul or a false multiple foul, each foul carries its own penalty.

4.19.8 SITUATION B: B1 holds A1, whose team is in the bonus. A1 is successful in both free-throw attempts. While B1 is making the throw-in from behind the end line, A1 pushes B2. Team B is or is not in the bonus situation. Ruling: If Team B is in the bonus, B2 is either awarded a one-and-one and the ball remains in play if either free-throw attempt touches the basket ring but is not successful, or is awarded two free throws and the ball remains in play if the second is unsuccessful. If the last free-throw attempt by B2 is successful, Team A shall put the ball in play from out of bounds anywhere along the end line by B’s basket. If Team B is not in the bonus, it is awarded the ball for a throw-in from a designated spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred. Penalties are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. (7-5-5)

Enforce in the order that they occurred. A is still shooting FTs. Lane will be cleared. Now is B in bonus? If so, they will shoot either 1 and 1 or 2, with players on the lane. Otherwise, they get ball on endline.

BigJoe Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:57am

Bart,
It is pretty early in the day for a question like that! I have been officiating for 10 years and have never seen a foul called on a player on a lane space other than on a rebound.
That said, A2 didn't violate any free throw provisions by fouling B1 so we have to clear the lane and shoot the two foul shots. If B was in the bonus, we would fill the lane at the other end of the floor and shoot the free throw(s). If not in the bonus it would be a throw in on the endline for B after the free throws by A1.

BigJoe Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:01am

Man Hawks Coach you are fast. You even quote the rules. I did pretty good just off the top of my head. Maybe I'll have a good game tonight!

mick Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
A1 has ball in hand for 1st of 2-shot FT, A2 fouls B1. What do we do?
First I have to judge:<LI>Intentional Technical<LI>Flagrant Technical<LI>Did I really see it?

mick Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach

Enforce in the order that they occurred.

Women, not High School. ;)

Bart Tyson Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:22am

Good options, mick. A2 and B1 are hip to hip and A2 gives the little hip check to B1, causing B1 to enter the lane. I was the L and the only one to notice. Team B is down by 20+ points.

Bart Tyson Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:47am

So i guess we are looking at a false double? I had one early in the season, back in November. Only we had a live ball foul and a dead ball T. We shot the T and then the FT's for the live ball foul. I guess i will have to go back and study the rule again.

mick Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
So i guess we are looking at a false double? I had one early in the season, back in November. Only we had a live ball foul and a dead ball T. We shot the T and then the FT's for the live ball foul. I guess i will have to go back and study the rule again.
I concur, Bart.
A false double works.
Administer the technical at the other end, and then go to POI for A1's two throws.
mick

Ref Daddy Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:12pm


What about that arm overlapping (mine over yours crap) that they kids are learning from the NBA. When they are setting up after the ball delivered to shooter.

Seing more and more of it.




mick Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Daddy

What about that arm overlapping (mine over yours crap) that they kids are learning from the NBA. When they are setting up after the ball delivered to shooter.

Seing more and more of it.




"Hey, you two!" ---> gone.

ChuckElias Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
A2 didn't violate any free throw provisions by fouling B1
How can you foul somebody without first violating by leaving (or at least extending beyond) the confines your lane space?

Chuck

bigwhistle Thu Jan 30, 2003 02:07pm

No T on this play
 
For those saying shoot the T first....WHAT T???

Since A1 had the ball when the foul occurred, it would not be an automatic dead ball contact technical. This would be treated the same way as a foul on a throw in after the ball has been given to the player to inbound the ball.

Clear the lane, let A1 shoot hers, then either shoot on the other end with players on the lane or give the ball to B on the endline backcourt for a throw-in. If A1 makes the 2nd free throw, does B have the right to run the end line?

mick Thu Jan 30, 2003 02:16pm

Re: No T on this play
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
For those saying shoot the T first....WHAT T???

Since A1 had the ball when the foul occurred, it would not be an automatic dead ball contact technical. This would be treated the same way as a foul on a throw in after the ball has been given to the player to inbound the ball.

Clear the lane, let A1 shoot hers, then either shoot on the other end with players on the lane or give the ball to B on the endline backcourt for a throw-in. If A1 makes the 2nd free throw, does B have the right to run the end line?

Look at 4-26-12. A.R. 21 is loosely related.
Do you have another reference?

MN 3 Sport Ref Thu Jan 30, 2003 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
So i guess we are looking at a false double? I had one early in the season, back in November. Only we had a live ball foul and a dead ball T. We shot the T and then the FT's for the live ball foul. I guess i will have to go back and study the rule again.
BIG WHISTLE:

The people talking about a T are refering to Bart's expanded case listed above, not the original post.

rainmaker Thu Jan 30, 2003 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
So i guess we are looking at a false double? I had one early in the season, back in November. Only we had a live ball foul and a dead ball T. We shot the T and then the FT's for the live ball foul. I guess i will have to go back and study the rule again.
I concur, Bart.
A false double works.
Administer the technical at the other end, and then go to POI for A1's two throws.
mick

This isn't correct for Fed, is it? You guys need to specify whose rules you're working under!

rainmaker Thu Jan 30, 2003 03:40pm

Re: Re: No T on this play
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Look at 4-26-12. A.R. 21 is loosely related.
Do you have another reference?

Is this an NF reference? I'm confused! POI is college, itsn't it?

Bart Tyson Thu Jan 30, 2003 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
A2 didn't violate any free throw provisions by fouling B1
How can you foul somebody without first violating by leaving (or at least extending beyond) the confines your lane space?

Chuck

The lane violation only restricts the feet.

mick Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:09pm

Re: Re: Re: No T on this play
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Look at 4-26-12. A.R. 21 is loosely related.
Do you have another reference?

Is this an NF reference? I'm confused! POI is college, itsn't it?

Well, yeah!
Bart's thread is labeled "women's,FT,Foul". ;)

Mark Dexter Fri Jan 31, 2003 12:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
A2 didn't violate any free throw provisions by fouling B1
How can you foul somebody without first violating by leaving (or at least extending beyond) the confines your lane space?

Chuck

Arms, hands, torso, . . . head butt?

ChuckElias Fri Jan 31, 2003 09:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Arms, hands, torso, . . . head butt?
Yep, ok. I was envisioning that the kid pushed the opponent to get rebounding position. But I guess he coulda just clocked him while standing still.

Chuck


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1