The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10-1-6 Administration ??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/72138-10-1-6-administration.html)

bainsey Sun Jun 19, 2011 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 766823)
Bingo. Give that man a cigar.

It's not one of those exploding ones, is it?

Okay, so let's say we have a legitimate case for a rewrite. Whom on the NFHS would we contact?

BillyMac Sun Jun 19, 2011 03:43pm

The Royal We ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 766824)
Whom on the NFHS would we contact?

We? Who said anything about we? You're the one who came up with the idea for a rewrite. So it's whom on the NFHS would bainsey contact?

BktBallRef Sun Jun 19, 2011 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 765234)
BktBallRef: Thanks for posting. So I guess you're saying that Nevadaref's citation that the player "will not actually participate until the ball becomes live" doesn't fit Situation G?

How about Situation C? It appears that A6 was "on the floor (and) was participating prior to that when the" violation occurred? Your words in quotes. The only difference here is that the clock is stopped.

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

I have no interest in reading all those scenarios again, just to satisfy your curiosity. It's simple:

6 players come onto the floor. Until the ball is put in play, it's not live and he can leave without penalty. Once the ball becomes live, the live ball requirement has been satsfied and the team is at risk of a technical foul. It makes no difference how many more time it becomes dead/live before discovered. If either team gets a timeout and get #6 off the floor, then they can avoid the penalty. Otherwise, if it's discovered during the interim, it's a T.

BillyMac Sun Jun 19, 2011 07:17pm

BktBallRef May Be On To Something ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 766844)
Once the ball becomes live, the live ball requirement has been satsfied and the team is at risk of a technical foul. It makes no difference how many more time it becomes dead/live before discovered. If either team gets a timeout and get #6 off the floor, then they can avoid the penalty. Otherwise, if it's discovered during the interim, it's a T.

Now this has a nice ring to it. Sounds fair. Sounds like it fits the spirit and purpose of the rule. If only the rule were worded that way?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1