![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I think i know the answer, but I am not sure about this. I'll Try my best to describe the situation
Team A commits an inbounding violation by stepping over the baseline underneath team B's basket. Team B is then awarded the ball at that same spot. Now, I know team B is not allowed to run the baseline from this point after the initial infraction by Team A. Player taking the ball out on Team B is shuffling his feet p and down, taking about 8 steps, but all in the same place, basically like his jumping up and down. The referee blows his whistle and calls traveling. I asked him what why he called it traveling and he said because the inbounder took more than 1 step. I was thinking that its one step in either direction from the point of inbounds but with that call, now im unsure. Can someone clarify for me? Thanks |
|
|||
|
I checked out sections of the NCAA book on throw-ins, out-of-bounds and the throw-in, travelling, and violations.
The only movement-related restrictions on the thrower in the situation you outlined are that they cannot leave the designated spot, and they may not step into the playing court. You can stand on your head to throw-in as long as you don't leave from the designated spot. Not sure what that official was thinking. |
|
|||
|
This wasn't another D-1 ref was it? :-)
Z Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|