![]() |
During play A1 is fouled by B1 at the exact same time B2 is intentionally fouled by A2. Each foul is called. Is this situation a double foul and administered under the AP arrow? Or does the intentional carry a more severe penalty?
|
Hmmmmm!
Quote:
I could be completely wrong though. |
I agree. If they happened at exactly the same time, then you can't ignore either one. However, if the intentional foul had happened first, then the common foul would not be penalized. If the common foul happened first, you would still penalize the intentional foul!
|
NFHS 4-19-9 Simultaneous foul
by rule, go to the AP, No FTs... if one happened after the other...then you have a false double foul and penalize them in the order in which they occured. |
Rule 4-19-9 states ...."a foul by both teams at APPROXIMATELY THE SAME TIME,"...
In the situation described by Hoosier Daddy, we (my partner and I) are probably going to "see" the common foul first and then the intentional foul next. (Which btw will be a intentional technical now since it was during a dead ball) This way we can justify administering it the way JR stated, with the exception of now giving Team B the throw-in at the division line opposite the table. Dude |
Quote:
If you decide during your pregame that you are not going to have any simultaneous fouls (if I am reading your post correctly), then why not see the intentional foul first and consider the common foul as incidental contact. This way your intentional foul is a personal foul, the player fouled will get to shoot his/her free throws and his/her team will get the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the foul. Prior to this year, when simultaneous fouls were considered false double fouls, this his how my partners decided to handle such a situation if it were to arise because trying to explain the two fouls to two coaches who are probably not very happy with us is the the easiest thing to do. |
Quote:
originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci,Sr. If you decide during your pregame that you are not going to have any simultaneous fouls No, I don't pregame that we are not going to have any simultaneous fouls...again, this situation doesn't seem to fit the "normal" simultaneous foul situation...thus, my administration "thinking" on this one. originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci,Sr. because trying to explain the two fouls to two coaches who are probably not very happy with us is the the easiest thing to do. Ahhhh, come on MTD...you're not going to change the way you call a game just because of a couple "Howler" coaches, now are ya? :D Dude [Edited by RookieDude on Jan 21st, 2003 at 09:44 PM] |
Quote:
It wasn't covered last year,and the consensus was to treat it the same as a double foul-which is exactly what the NFHS did when they plugged that loophole this year. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 21st, 2003 at 09:39 PM] |
Quote:
The rule clearly stated last year that all simultaneous fouls resulted in the team with the AP arrow getting the ball. The only thing that changed was that SF are now found in the definitions. |
Quote:
|
With NCAA rules
For the above sit. No F.T.'s Ball back to team in control no reset to shot clock. Looks funny, but can't seem to find any other way to dispute this ruling for ncaa.Any comments? |
Quote:
This is the correct call for your situation by the book. If you want some advice about how to handle/avoid this situation then look at some of the other posts. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48am. |