The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Offensive player initiating contact with lead elbow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7067-offensive-player-initiating-contact-lead-elbow.html)

Paul Janssen Mon Jan 20, 2003 06:15pm

At a recent kids' game I noticed that a young girl was dribbling down the
court with her right hand, and using her left hand to shield contact by
defensive players. The left hand was raised shoulder high, outside the vertical plane as defined by her feet/shoulder position and was
frequently used to initiate contact with defensive players. These defensive
players were not stationary, I'll grant you, but does the rule of
verticality apply to both offensive and defensive players equally? (i.e.,
is the offensive player just as confined as the defensive player?) I (think
I know) that the offensive player has a right to her position, just as the
defensive player does, and that the defensive player can't simply 'reach in'
and strike the dribbling player in an attempt to make a steal. However, my
question is, can an offensive player initiate contact in this manner? My
basic point was that hand contact cannot be allowed by either offensive or
defensive player to gain an illegal advantage over an opposing player.
Unfortunately, the coach who argued against me bullied a young (14 year old)
referee to see things his way, and no offensive fouls were called. A bunch of reach-ins were, when the offensive player had actually initiated the contact. Maybe
I'm just wrong about this. Thanks for responding -- and, sorry if my
description isn't clear enough!
Paul Janssen

refjef40 Mon Jan 20, 2003 07:04pm

In my mind anytime the offensive elbow is up and it causes the contact the offensive player has fouled.The offensive player is afforded the same vertacality but a elbow sticking out is a horizontal weapon in my view.Anyone out there who disagrees feel free.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 20, 2003 10:40pm

NFHS R10-S6-A1: "..... A player may not use the forearm and hand to prevent an an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when throwing for a goal. ....."

NCAA Men's/Women's R10-S18-A5: "..... A player shall not use the forearm and hand to prevent an an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when trying for a goal. ....."

FIBA R8-43.5.8.6.2: "A player shall not "push off" in order to prevent the defensive player from playing or attempting to play the ball."

FIBA R8-43.5.8.6.4: "A player shall not while dribbling, use an extended forearm or hand to prenent an opponent to secure the ball."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1