The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 07, 2000, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Post

On the closely guarded rule, does a dribbling offensive player need to be closely guarded by the same defender to maintain the count? Dribbling on the left side of a zone defense, A1 is closely guarded by B1 who has that area. A1 dribbles to her right, still tightly guarded by B1 until B1 runs into teammate B2. B2 maintains the tight defensive pressure as A1 begins to drive, where potentially B3 picks up the pressure. At all times, a player from B maintains direct pressure on the ball, and sometimes two players from B are on the ball. As team A in this scenario, one of my players did this dribble around the zone maneuver and I watched the ref drop the 5 second count each time she got a new defender, only to resume it about a second later. While we benefited (sort of - it wasn't like we broke down the defense!) from the no call, I thought that it was the wrong interpretation of the rule. If it is right, it kis one more twist that I need to explain to my players.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1