The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   administration of a T (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7019-administration-t.html)

Stan Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:05am

After team A shooting the first shot of two, the table blows the horn for the officials to come over. They do and Team A had made an illegal substitution, the player was not on the rooster. The officials then went to the other end for team B to shoot two shots, lane cleared. Then back to the other end for team A to shoot the second of the two shots. This didn't seem right and I can't find in the book where it would be any different than penalizing the technical immediatly, but after shooting the T, team B didn't get the ball back. Was this correct administration?

Thanks, Stan

firedoc Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:26am

In NFHS rules, fouls are administered in the order in which they occured. In the scenario you describe the 2nd shot should have been shot (with the lane cleared) and then the 2 shots for the technical would be by any player of team B (again with the lane cleared). The ball would then go to team B for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table.

By the way, it must have been an unusual game that they had a rooster at the table. :-)

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by firedoc

By the way, it must have been an unusual game that they had a rooster at the table. :-)

Probably there to wish the teams "good cluck".

RookieDude Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:15am

...sometimes we get "Hen-pecked" by boisterous Coaches! ;)

Dude

NCAAREF Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:28am

POI
 
Sounds as if they might have been following NCAA rules where you put the ball back in play at the Point of Interruption. In this case you administer the T then go back to where you were.

zebraman Fri Jan 17, 2003 12:31pm

Quote:

Team A had made an illegal substitution, the player was not on the rooster.
Sounds like they were a bit chicken to me. I hope the official bird-dogged the call. Did the opposing coach egg you on?

Z

MN 3 Sport Ref Fri Jan 17, 2003 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:

Team A had made an illegal substitution, the player was not on the rooster.
Sounds like they were a bit chicken to me. I hope the official bird-dogged the call. Did the opposing coach egg you on?

Z

I bet the coaches were really crowing about the officiating after that....

SMcQueen Fri Jan 17, 2003 02:01pm

Man, you guys are bad :)

It really comes down to which came first :)

4 Sport Official Fri Jan 17, 2003 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by firedoc
Man, you guys are bad

It really comes down to which came first


Which do you mean, the chicken or the egg, or the personal or the technical?

BTW, Did anyone get their feathers in a bunch?

I was thinking of picking up a fifth sport. Does anyone know how to get started officiating cock-fighting?

Thank you, thank you. I'll be here all week. Try the veal, and don't forget to tip your server.



[Edited by 4 Sport Official on Jan 17th, 2003 at 01:10 PM]

zebraman Fri Jan 17, 2003 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by 4 Sport Official
<b>
Thank you, thank you. I'll be here all week. Try the veal, and don't forget to tip your server.
</b>

LOL and ROF. Stop it, my co-workers think I'm losing it.

Z

Stan Fri Jan 17, 2003 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by firedoc
In NFHS rules, fouls are administered in the order in which they occured. In the scenario you describe the 2nd shot should have been shot (with the lane cleared) and then the 2 shots for the technical would be by any player of team B (again with the lane cleared). The ball would then go to team B for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table.

By the way, it must have been an unusual game that they had a rooster at the table. :-)

Thanks for the reply. Geez, one wrong word and you guys are animals.

moose69 Fri Jan 17, 2003 03:53pm

What game first...the Chicken or the egg...


That's easy, the Rooster.

ScottParks Fri Jan 17, 2003 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Quote:

Originally posted by firedoc
In NFHS rules, fouls are administered in the order in which they occured. In the scenario you describe the 2nd shot should have been shot (with the lane cleared) and then the 2 shots for the technical would be by any player of team B (again with the lane cleared). The ball would then go to team B for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table.

By the way, it must have been an unusual game that they had a rooster at the table. :-)

Thanks for the reply. Geez, one wrong word and you guys are animals.

Tough crowd.http://www.sodamnfunny.com/Animation/Gif/monkey7.gif



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1