The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Initial tip gooes out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7017-initial-tip-gooes-out-bounds.html)

SamNVa Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:16am

Situation: 14-15 yr old Rec league ostensively playing by FED rules. Theh following situation has happened several times this season: On the initial tipoff, Team A clearly out jumps Team B and swats the ball into Team A's front court with such force that no one can catch up to the ball before it crosses the endline. In 5 out of 6 cases, the officials have awarded the ball to Team B, 3 times at midcourt and twice at the endline; one group had the players re-jump. Who has it right, the 3, the 2, or the 1? Suppose the blast caroms off of a Team B player before going out of bounds. What is the call then?

Just curious,
SamC

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:22am

It's team B's ball where the violation occured-i.e. where it went OOB.Team A gets the arrow.It's the same as any OOB call,on a ball last touched in bounds.Possession goes to the the opponents of the team that knocked it OOB,where the ball left the court.

Ref in PA Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:25am

OOB on jump
 
On a jump ball, if Team A was the last to touch the ball before going OOB, Team B gets the ball for a throw-in and the AP arrow is set to Team A when the ball is at the disposal of Team B for the throw-in. The reverse is true if Team B was the last to touch the ball. This also assume that neither team secured possession before the ball went OOB. If the officials cannot determine which team was the last to touch the ball before going OOB, there will be a rejump between the two players involved (could be separate from the original jumpers).

RookieDude Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:32am

Sam, JR has it exactly right. Notice JR said, "on a ball last touched inbounds". If you were to have a throw-in, and nobody touched the ball inbounds, the ball would be taken back to the spot of the original throw-in.

This stuff seems pretty simple to officials that know the rules...but as you can see...not all officials have found out about this forum. :D

Dude

Hawks Coach Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:36am

As long as they have great presence when the award the ball to B at midcourt (or re-jump), the lack of rules knowledge is inconsequential. It's not what you call, it's howyou call it that really matters :D

rockyroad Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
As long as they have great presence when the award the ball to B at midcourt (or re-jump), the lack of rules knowledge is inconsequential. It's not what you call, it's howyou call it that really matters :D
Oh, you are soooooooo bad!

Nevadaref Sat Jan 18, 2003 08:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
As long as they have great presence when the award the ball to B at midcourt (or re-jump), the lack of rules knowledge is inconsequential. It's not what you call, it's howyou call it that really matters :D
So, Hawks Coach, if this play happened in your game, would you get double-T'd and thrown out of the gym arguing the rules with these officials who have such great presence? ;)

Hawks Coach Sat Jan 18, 2003 09:58am

If they bring me great presents, I never complain :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1