The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/69894-weird-play.html)

26 Year Gap Sun May 15, 2011 08:46pm

Weird Play
 
Coming out of a timeout [actually NOT coming out of a timeout], I began the resumption of play procedure for the White team's delay. It was their ball. Then all of a sudden a Red player steps OOB and picks up the ball. I don't know if I kicked it or not. Just blew the whistle and gave it to White.

Afterward, I wondered if it should have been a technical on Red. Had White been holding the ball OOB, and Red reached over the plane and contacted the ball, it would have been a technical foul. The element that was missing was the inbounder holding the ball. What SHOULD be the ruling in this case? I know calling a T would have meant a bunch of Ricky Ricardos showing up.

APG Sun May 15, 2011 08:50pm

Delay of game warning

26 Year Gap Sun May 15, 2011 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 758712)
Delay of game warning

So, similar to Red knocking the ball after a made basket? Is there a case play for what I described? It isn't really the same thing as that DOG.

APG Sun May 15, 2011 09:00pm

9-2 Penalties

3. If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touches or dislodged the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay is required. See 10-3-10 Penalty.

That tells us we can't call a T for contacting the ball through the throw-in plane since it wasn't in a thrower's hand nor was it being passed to a teammate out of bounds during an undesignated throw-in

All we can go on is 9-3-10

Art. 10...The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

26 Year Gap Sun May 15, 2011 09:06pm

That makes sense. Thanks.

BktBallRef Sun May 15, 2011 10:20pm

Sounds to me like Red was confused with regard to whose ball it was. I would have handled it just as you did. I'm not giving a DOG warning in this sitch.

bob jenkins Mon May 16, 2011 06:47am

I'm 90% certain there's an interp (check the archives) or case play on this

26 Year Gap Mon May 16, 2011 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 758728)
Sounds to me like Red was confused with regard to whose ball it was. I would have handled it just as you did. I'm not giving a DOG warning in this sitch.

They were, in fact, penalized, because the RPP was stopped.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1