The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 09:13am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to fletch_irwin_m
Talking

Since the TO discussion was lively........
I am not sure if you all have these types of people in your associations, but it would be interesting to see.
We have a few officials who will go to great lengths to avoid any overtimes. They view overtimes as some lapse in officiating. When I heard this I was some what shocked. If the game goes into overtime it goes into overtime. I don't buy this "We don't get paid extra for overtime" theme.
Agreement?
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 09:17am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Ron
To me, an overtime period simply adds to the excitement of a game. I'm happy to stay for another 4 minutes. Maybe I'll change my mind after I've been reffing for several years, but anyone who feels that overtime is a burden should probably reconsider their involvement in the game.
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 09:54am
Official Forum Member

It is the same way in my association. However, I think it is said more tongue-in-cheek. If it takes an overtime or two, it just means you're working a great game. I'll take that over a 30+ game anyday!!

MJ
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 10:29am
Get away from me, Steve.

Last Friday during halftime (girls varsity -- close game, but not a cleanly played half) I told my partner that we needed to burn something to keep the overtime gods happy.

The visiting team nailed a three at the buzzer to send the game into OT. Naturally I smiled, went to the table, informed them of the timeout and foul considerations and worked a great overtime period.

At least to me, it's always tongue and cheek. But I work baseball -- even a multiple OT basketball game seems short to me.

Rich
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 11:06am
Official Forum Member