The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 14, 2003, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Re: Re: Right foot?

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Originally posted by BktBallRef

Sounds to me like his right foot is his pivot.



Why would his right foot be his pivot foot. If he catches the pass (presumably with both feet on the floor), then steps with his right first, wouldn't that make his left foot his pivot foot?
Why do you presume both feet are on the floor? It doesn't say that. I answered based on what was written, not what I might presume.
Sorry, yes both feet are on the floor when the player catches it in my example.
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 14, 2003, 08:06am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Wink Re: Re: Why isn't this called

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by dhodges007
Why do you hardly ever see this situation called. A1 is passed the ball, steps forward with the right foot and then his left (hits the floor) and then shoots.

By definition this should be a travel, however, I never see it called... do you?
Sounds to me like his right foot is his pivot.
YU.P., that works too.
And that's a judgement that we have to make.
We determine when A1 receives/controls the ball in relation to when the right foot moves.
Sounded to me like A1 had the ball, then moved.
Sounded to Tony like A1 was moving when the ball arrived.
It's so simple, I wonder why the fans don't get it.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 14, 2003, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
I think what the poster of this thread is trying to say is that too many travelling violations are called at the high levels of FIBA. I don't think he is talking about high school ball here.

How many times have you seen Allen Iverson called for a travel?? If you read the original thread he talks about the players at the HIGHEST levels. European pros get called for travelling a lot more than in the states. I think that is the rule he is referring too, and the differences he is referring to.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 14, 2003, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 152
But t has always seemd to me that the one travel calls that NBA refs DO call consistantly is pulling the pivot at the start of the move
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
back to topic

This discussion is out of topic.

I think I have to be more specific.

When we get American players here it is obvious that they were used to a different way of looking at the travelrule.

It looked to us that all our U.S. players were allowed to move the pivot before the ball leaves the hand. There are no exceptions. All players played at top college level.

When they get the ball in the run the make a two count and then they start dribbling.

When they make an open step they first step and then they start dribbling. Everybody knows it, there is no questioning about it. It is a well known issue in Europe.

In fact I think this is the right natural way to start your dribble but it is called time after time. It is also obvious that it is not called in the US, witch must make the game more enjoyable because it is not interupted for moves that are in the flow of the action.

I am not a referee but I like to watch and coach basketball. As I have seen it for about 20 years now, I am sure that the American way of interpreting the rules is much more fun for the crowd, coach, players and referees.

[Edited by coach2 on Jan 15th, 2003 at 08:21 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
gsf23 is right!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 11:57am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
It was my understanding (from a rules meeting) that a player could lift his pivot foot before starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started or the ball was released on the pass befor the pivot foot was returned to the floor. Is this an incorrect rules interpretation?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
It was my understanding (from a rules meeting) that a player could lift his pivot foot before starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started or the ball was released on the pass befor the pivot foot was returned to the floor. Is this an incorrect rules interpretation?
You got it right (FED NC2A) Pass/shot must be released or dribble started before pivot is lifted. If this occurs nearly simultaneously it is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 12:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
It was my understanding (from a rules meeting) that a player could lift his pivot foot before starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started or the ball was released on the pass befor the pivot foot was returned to the floor. Is this an incorrect rules interpretation?
w_sohl,
Not quite right.
Check out Case 4.43.3 Situation C
That'll help.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94
Simply put, the dribble must be started before the pivot foot is lifted. The pass and shot can be made/completed while the pivot foot is lifted as long as the pivot foot does not return to the floor before completion of the pass/shot.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 12:18pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
It was my understanding (from a rules meeting) that a player COULD lift his pivot foot BEFORE starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started or the ball was released on the pass BEFORE the pivot foot was RETURNED to the floor. Is this an incorrect rules interpretation?
You got it right (FED NC2A) Pass/shot must be released or dribble started before pivot is lifted. If this occurs nearly simultaneously it is legal.
You say I got it right in your post but contridict my statement. Now I am really confused.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
It was my understanding (from a rules meeting) that a player COULD lift his pivot foot BEFORE starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started or the ball was released on the pass BEFORE the pivot foot was RETURNED to the floor. Is this an incorrect rules interpretation?
You got it right (FED NC2A) Pass/shot must be released or dribble started before pivot is lifted. If this occurs nearly simultaneously it is legal.
You say I got it right in your post but contridict my statement. Now I am really confused.
It is your quote that is contradicting. How can a player start a dribble before he starts a dribble???

"BEFORE starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started"

I simply overlooked your error as I thought you did not mean to word it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Quote:
Originally posted by Pirate
Simply put, the dribble must be started before the pivot foot is lifted. The pass and shot can be made/completed while the pivot foot is lifted as long as the pivot foot does not return to the floor before completion of the pass/shot.
That's correct. You have to dribble before the pivot foot is lifted, otherwise travel. You can lift the pivot foot before you shoot or pass; however, it can not come back down. If so -- travel.
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
There are at least two conflicting lines of thought on this thread, so lets go straight to the rules.

Rule 4, SECTION 43 TRAVELING
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

I have seen it said that you can lift in all cases, lift in none of the cases, and the correct rule which is stated above. The dribble is different than the shot or pass by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 02:12pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
There are at least two conflicting lines of thought on this thread, so lets go straight to the rules.

Rule 4, SECTION 43 TRAVELING
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

I have seen it said that you can lift in all cases, lift in none of the cases, and the correct rule which is stated above. The dribble is different than the shot or pass by rule.
I would have gotten it right 2/3 of the time before, but now I will get it right all of the time....

I was going to look it up later anyway, thanks for saving me the time Coach
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1