The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6953-travel-not.html)

williebfree Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:20am

I worked a rec game (NFHS) this evening with a relatively new partner. I made a "travel" call when teammates had simultaneous possession (joint control) of the ball.

After the game the young partner asked which rule states that the above situation is a "travel". We looked through the rules definitions and we could not find the rule that specifically identifies this as a violation.

Anyone able to help?

Further research in the casebook (4.43.2 situaiton b) indicates NO VIOLATION as long as neither player moves their pivot foot while in joint control of the ball.

[Edited by williebfree on Jan 12th, 2003 at 11:25 PM]

BktBallRef Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:54am

Correct. If neither player moved both feet, it's not traveling.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1