The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   AP Throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6952-ap-throw.html)

RickyD Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:14pm

To start the 3rd quarter the AP points to Team A. Team A is awarded the ball for throw-in at midcourt opposite
the scorer's table. A1's throw-in is touched by A2 (but not possessed) then goes out of bounds at the scorer's table. Team B is awarded the ball for throw-in.
Does Team A keep the AP arrow?

BktBallRef Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:16pm

No, they do not. When the ball was touched inbounds by A2, the throw-in was ended.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 13, 2003 03:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
No, they do not. When the ball was touched inbounds by A2, the throw-in was ended.
Hmmmm. Are you sure that this isn't just an "interrupted throw-in"? :D

dhodges007 Mon Jan 13, 2003 07:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
No, they do not. When the ball was touched inbounds by A2, the throw-in was ended.
Agree.

RX Ref Mon Jan 13, 2003 02:09pm

What would be the difference between that and if the throw in was stolen? The arrow still changes. The AP changes when the ball is at the disposal....

whistleblower Mon Jan 13, 2003 02:36pm

No, the arrow changes when the throw-in ends.

Refneck Mon Jan 13, 2003 02:41pm

What happens if the player violates before completing the throw-in?

Dan_ref Mon Jan 13, 2003 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
No, they do not. When the ball was touched inbounds by A2, the throw-in was ended.
OK...how about this one...A1 hands the ball to A2 but A2 does not grab it, he merely touches it... :eek:

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 13, 2003 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
OK...how about this one...A1 hands the ball to A2 but A2 does not grab it, he merely touches it... :eek: [/B][/QUOTE]You have a mean streak in ya.

I like that in a person!:D

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Jan 13, 2003 03:45pm

AGAIN !!!!
 
I don't think we ever resolved this one last time. Did we?

You're a trouble-maker Dan.

Hawks Coach Mon Jan 13, 2003 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Refneck
What happens if the player violates before completing the throw-in?
Rule 6 Live Ball and Dead Ball
SECTION 3 ALTERNATING POSSESSION
ART. 4 . . . The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.
ART. 5 . . . The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow.

So it de[pends what you are asking - if A vilolates, AP arrow is lost. If A completes throw-in, arrow is lost. Anything else, AP arrow is retained.

RickyD Mon Jan 13, 2003 06:01pm

I agree that the AP arrow is lost.
Hawks quote is on target.

Refneck Tue Jan 14, 2003 01:56pm

Thanks Hawk.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1