The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the call (NFHS)? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6935-whats-call-nfhs.html)

Paul LeBoutillier Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:47am

Hi Everyone! Been awhile since I logged on but I have a question for which I need a reference (Rule or Case Book).

"A" has the ball in their frontcourt and A1 bobbles the ball into the backcourt, where it continues to roll UNTOUCHED to the far end line out-of-bounds. Where does B get a throw in?

Again, please site Case or Rule book in your reply.

Thanks!

Paul


Mark Dexter Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:55am

End line.

The violation here is 9-3 - causing the ball to go out of bounds. Backcourt violation (9-9) does not apply here because the ball was not touched in the backcourt.

7.4(b) is the related case book play.

williebfree Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:57am

I do not have rules book handy, but feel comfortable to offer my call in this situation?

This is a case where simple logic (and rules knowledge) should make it easy. To have a BC violation, the offense has to be the first to touch the ball when it "returns" to the BC. That did not happen anywhere in this situation. Therefore, it becomes a simple OOB call. Who touched it last? "A".

Team "B"'s ball at the location it went OOB.


BktBallRef Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Paul LeBoutillier
Hi Everyone! Been awhile since I logged on but I have a question for which I need a reference (Rule or Case Book).

"A" has the ball in their frontcourt and A1 bobbles the ball into the backcourt, where it continues to roll UNTOUCHED to the far end line out-of-bounds. Where does B get a throw in?

Again, please site Case or Rule book in your reply.

Thanks!

Paul

Hmmmm....Paul, you need to visit more often. :)

Ball is put in play where it went OOB. Where else would it be?

Paul LeBoutillier Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:27pm

[/B][/QUOTE]Ball is put in play where it went OOB. Where else would it be? [/B][/QUOTE]

The game in question was one in which I was not officiating. I had done the previous game and was doing stats. The play I described above took place and an official who was in the crowd started telling one of the officials on the floor that the ball was suppossed to be put into play mid-court. The game official (first year guy) thought it sounded good to him and so that's what he did. Several of us discussed it afterwards and decided the call was wrong but I wanted to get confirmation.

I appreciate everyone who responded!

Paul

BktBallRef Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:59am

Yep, it's always where the violation occurred. I see a lot of first and second year guys,.... well, he11, let's admit it,..... I see a lot of veterans as well who always inbound a BC violation at the division line. :(

Pop in more often, Paul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1