The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pre-Game Dunk/ T (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6886-pre-game-dunk-t.html)

Man In Blue Wed Jan 08, 2003 02:45pm

During the pre-game warm up A1 dunks the basketball. When do you report it and what is the propper way to tell coaches. players etc.? The official scores were not at the table (they were on a break).

bigwhistle Wed Jan 08, 2003 02:52pm

If you decide that you saw the dunk :) (along with the other coach), just make a mental note to yourself of the player(s) number(s). Then let your partner know that you have a T to handle. Walk to the head coach of the team that dunked and calmly let him know that his player dunked the ball and that the game will start with a T. (You may want to let him know that he is now seatbelted for the remainder of the game).

When the table crew returns, let them know what you have called.

There is no reason to make a big display about the situation. You do not need to blow your whistle and give the "T" sign when this situation occurs. Just report factually and calmly to the coach and ignore the language that he uses to explain to the player how much trouble he will be in at the next practice.

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 08, 2003 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
Walk to the head coach of the team that dunked and calmly let him know that his player dunked the ball and that the game will start with a T. (You may want to let him know that he is now seatbelted for the remainder of the game).

Big, you left out the best part - the coach now has an indirect technical charged to him - only two strikes and now he's out!

devdog69 Wed Jan 08, 2003 04:03pm

The situation may call for a bit more than that, bigwhistle. Every situation is different, but you may want to give a short toot on the whistle to get the players attention and prevent the next two yaywhoos from doing the same thing and sending the coach to the showers and leave you wondering "why me". JMHO.

dhodges007 Thu Jan 09, 2003 08:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
If you decide that you saw the dunk :) (along with the other coach), just make a mental note to yourself of the player(s) number(s). Then let your partner know that you have a T to handle. Walk to the head coach of the team that dunked and calmly let him know that his player dunked the ball and that the game will start with a T. (You may want to let him know that he is now seatbelted for the remainder of the game).

When the table crew returns, let them know what you have called.

There is no reason to make a big display about the situation. You do not need to blow your whistle and give the "T" sign when this situation occurs. Just report factually and calmly to the coach and ignore the language that he uses to explain to the player how much trouble he will be in at the next practice.

Why would you seatbelt him? I don't seatbelt a coach unless it is a direct T.

Mark Dexter Thu Jan 09, 2003 09:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by dhodges007

Why would you seatbelt him? I don't seatbelt a coach unless it is a direct T.

See 10-5 Penalty: When the coaching box is being utilized, then the first technical foul charged directly or indirectly to the head coach results in loss of the coaching-box privileges (emphasis mine).

ScottParks Thu Jan 09, 2003 09:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by dhodges007
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
If you decide that you saw the dunk :) (along with the other coach), just make a mental note to yourself of the player(s) number(s). Then let your partner know that you have a T to handle. Walk to the head coach of the team that dunked and calmly let him know that his player dunked the ball and that the game will start with a T. (You may want to let him know that he is now seatbelted for the remainder of the game).

When the table crew returns, let them know what you have called.

There is no reason to make a big display about the situation. You do not need to blow your whistle and give the "T" sign when this situation occurs. Just report factually and calmly to the coach and ignore the language that he uses to explain to the player how much trouble he will be in at the next practice.

Why would you seatbelt him? I don't seatbelt a coach unless it is a direct T.

Because the rules say the coach is seatbelted with his first technical foul of any kind. See the bold italicized text below.

Rule 10 Fouls and Penalties
SECTION 5 COACHES' RULE
ART. 2 . . . The head coach and assistant coach(es) must remain seated on the bench at all times while the clock is running or is stopped except to:
a. Confer with bench personnel and players within the confines of the bench area during a charged time-out or the intermission between quarters and extra periods.
b. Attend an injured player when beckoned onto the court by an official.
c. Rise in front of their seat to spontaneously react to an outstanding play by a member of their team or to acknowledge a replaced player(s), but must immediately return to their seat. (See 1-13 – coaching box)

PENALTY: (All articles) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in. (Art. 1b, c) If the error is not correctable under 2-10, or if the mistake as in 5-8-4 cannot be prevented or rectified, a 60-second time-out is charged. (Arts. 1, 2) The foul is charged directly to the head coach (Art. 2). If the head coach is the offender, the foul is charged directly to him/her. The foul is charged to the offender and also charged indirectly to the head coach. (Rule 1-13) When the coaching box is being utilized, then the first technical foul charged directly or indirectly to the head coach results in loss of the coaching-box privileges and the coach shall comply with the provisions of Articles 1 and 2 for the remainder of the game.

dhodges007 Thu Jan 09, 2003 02:45pm

Thanks. I learn something new here every day!

gsf23 Thu Jan 09, 2003 03:50pm

This happened at our first game this year.

As the opposing team was leaving the court to do their little pregame talk, their coach has them line up and they are supposed to run at the basket, jump and touch the rim. They go through this, but the last three players in line all jump, grab the rim and pull it down. After the third guy, the referee walked over to the coach as he was leaving the floor and told him that a T would be charged for grabbing the rim during the warm-ups, he then came and told me (we were still on the court warming up) that the other team was assest a T and that any of my five starters would be able to shoot the free-throws.

After introductions and everything, the horn sounds to start the game, the official turns to the table, blows whistle and signals the T, points to the other bench and we shoot our throws and start the game.


Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 09, 2003 04:11pm

GSF,you realize that the correct call in FED is 3 direct T's(one for each player that grabbed the rim) plus 3 indirect T's to the head coach,and he's also ejected,I hope.

gsf23 Thu Jan 09, 2003 04:14pm

oh yeah..well...this was NFHS. I think the officail only called one because it was the first game of the year, first year coach and first year assistant. I've seen them play a few times since them, and they don't do that line before going in anymore. Think they learned their lesson.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 09, 2003 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gsf23
oh yeah..well...this was NFHS. I think the officail only called one because it was the first game of the year, first year coach and first year assistant. I've seen them play a few times since them, and they don't do that line before going in anymore. Think they learned their lesson.
That's fine,as long as you whisper to the new head coach that he just got very lucky-and why,and you also had a coach on the other team that didn't know the rules.If the other coach did,you could be giving yourself a real headache.

I'm not big on throwing coaches for the technical stuff either.To be quite honest,I might not have "seen" one or two of the grabs.:D I would have made sure that the coach,whether he was new or not,knew the rule from then on,though.The tough part of not calling this is the case where the other team ends up losing by 2 or 3 points,and your failure to give them the FT's they deserved might have been the difference.

DownTownTonyBrown Thu Jan 09, 2003 04:43pm

I get the feeling that gsf was the opposing coach... not the official handing out Ts.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 09, 2003 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
I get the feeling that gsf was the opposing coach... not the official handing out Ts.
Whoops,didn't realize that.Now it can really get interesting.What does GFS do if this happens again to him?Insist on the 6 FT's and the ejection of his coaching counterpart?

Glad that I don't have to answer that one.That's a question for a coach's board on what they should do in a situation like that.:D

MN 3 Sport Ref Thu Jan 09, 2003 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
I get the feeling that gsf was the opposing coach... not the official handing out Ts.
That's a question for a coach's board on what they should do in a situation like that.:D

:D They have coaching boards like this?!? I bet we really get good press on their posts!!! No wonder they all think alike and have their own interpretation on rules and conduct ;)

(hawks,gsf etc hope you know I am just kidding!!!)

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 09, 2003 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
[/B]
:D They have coaching boards like this?!? I bet we really get good press on their posts!!! No wonder they all think alike and have their own interpretation on rules and conduct ;)

(hawks,gsf etc hope you know I am just kidding!!!) [/B][/QUOTE]The coach's boards aren't usually that bad. What's really amazing,if you hunt around for 'em,are some of the fan's boards-high school,university,etc. :eek:

Woodee Thu Jan 09, 2003 06:32pm



The foul is charged directly to the head coach (Art. 2). If the head coach is the offender, the foul is charged directly to him/her. The foul is charged to the offender and also charged indirectly to the head coach.



Plz forgive but how is the rule above interpeted?

1. Coach receives an indirect T and the offender recives a direct T?

2. Coach Indirect and Offender Indirect

3. Indirect Coach only

4. Indirect Offender only

In this sitch wouldn't it be Offender(Player) only?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 09, 2003 07:28pm

Woodee,forget about the quote at the top of your post,That was only used to illustrate that a coach gets "seat-belted" if he/she gets a direct or indirect technical foul.
I think what you are looking for is Rule 10-3-5,which states that a player gets a technical foul for grasping the rim during the warm-up.The penalty section for 10-3-5 also states that an indirect technical foul is also charged to the head coach if the grasping was done during the pre-game or intermission.

Woodee Thu Jan 09, 2003 07:31pm

Gotcha!!!!!!

Nevadaref Fri Jan 10, 2003 06:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by gsf23
he then came and told me (we were still on the court warming up) that the other team was assest a T and that any of my five starters would be able to shoot the free-throws.

Actually, this is wrong, too! Any of your team members may shoot the free throws. Therefore, it didn't have to be one of your starters. You could put someone in off the bench to shoot. You could even have one sub shoot the first and then a second sub shoot the second free throw.

It really annoys me when officials call the obscure stuff and then mess up the rule! If you are going to call it, you better know the whole thing.

gsf23 Fri Jan 10, 2003 09:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[/B]
That's fine,as long as you whisper to the new head coach that he just got very lucky-and why,and you also had a coach on the other team that didn't know the rules.If the other coach did,you could be giving yourself a real headache.

________________________________________

I still don't think I would have insisted on the 6 throws and the coaches ejection from the game. Yes I was the opposing coach (my first year also). And I did know what the rule was, but again, first game of the year, I'm not going to make a big deal of it. It it had happened later in the year then I may may have asked the official something like "shouldn't we get two for each grab" and then leave it up to him/her but I still don't think I would press the issue.

dhodges007 Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by gsf23
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
That's fine,as long as you whisper to the new head coach that he just got very lucky-and why,and you also had a coach on the other team that didn't know the rules.If the other coach did,you could be giving yourself a real headache.

________________________________________

I still don't think I would have insisted on the 6 throws and the coaches ejection from the game. Yes I was the opposing coach (my first year also). And I did know what the rule was, but again, first game of the year, I'm not going to make a big deal of it. It it had happened later in the year then I may may have asked the official something like "shouldn't we get two for each grab" and then leave it up to him/her but I still don't think I would press the issue. [/B]
IMO that sounds like a very classy way to handle the situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1