The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and Back on Out of Bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6845-over-back-out-bounds.html)

williebfree Tue Jan 07, 2003 08:33am

This is a NO-brainer...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Catches ball with one foot in front court....goes into backcourt.

Seems like a no-brainer to me...violation...but as you've all said, I wasn't there.

Here's a classic...Team A going up court, ball goes to A1 in frontcourt, passes to A2 who jumps from backcourt, catches ball, and lands in frontcourt...violation? I know this one (had it tonight!), just want to see your responses!

...violation! A2 still has backcourt status.

canuckrefguy Tue Jan 07, 2003 03:50pm

had a situation where team A turns the ball over in their front court, team B gets possession, but B1 loses it (still in team A frontcourt), and A1 dribbles loose ball near the centre line...doesn't grab it with both hands, but gains control with one hand and starts a dribble...and then steps on the centre line...called backcourt violation and coach went nuts, saying "no control"

seemed in control to me....

jking_94577 Tue Jan 07, 2003 04:20pm

How about this situation? A1 dribbles and gets one foot into frontcourt. B1 stops players dribble. So now A1 has one foot in FC and one foot in BC. A1 then pivots the foot that is in BC so that foot still stays in BC. Is this a violation since at that point of the pivot(lifting foot up) A1 has actually established FC position?

MN 3 Sport Ref Tue Jan 07, 2003 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
had a situation where team A turns the ball over in their front court, team B gets possession, but B1 loses it (still in team A frontcourt), and A1 dribbles loose ball near the centre line...doesn't grab it with both hands, but gains control with one hand and starts a dribble...and then steps on the centre line...called backcourt violation and coach went nuts, saying "no control"

seemed in control to me....

If the dribble was controlled A regained team possesion from B's previous and then stepped on the division line which is backcourt. You made the right call. Let the Howler monkey howl!!! (or tell him to read the section about team control in the FED rule book) :D

hawkk Tue Jan 07, 2003 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
How about this situation? A1 dribbles and gets one foot into frontcourt. B1 stops players dribble. So now A1 has one foot in FC and one foot in BC. A1 then pivots the foot that is in BC so that foot still stays in BC. Is this a violation since at that point of the pivot(lifting foot up) A1 has actually established FC position?
Yup -- strange when compared to the 30ts for a dribble, but true.

jking_94577 Tue Jan 07, 2003 05:52pm

What does 30ts mean?

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 07, 2003 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
What does 30ts mean?
I think that it means that he hit "0" instead of "p".:D

jking_94577 Tue Jan 07, 2003 06:46pm

Sorry still do not understand. What does he mean by 3pts to a dribble?

rockyroad Tue Jan 07, 2003 07:48pm

The 3 pts is referring to both feet and the ball having to cross the division line into the frontcourt when a player is DRIBBLING the ball...in other words, a player can walk along the division line with his/her feet in the backcourt, but dribbling the ball in the frontcourt, and we have no viloation as not all 3 points (two feet and ball) are in the frontcourt...this only applies to a dribbled ball...hope this helps...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1