The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Both Hands on Ball on Floor (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6835-both-hands-ball-floor.html)

chayce Sun Jan 05, 2003 04:18pm

I need some help finding a couple of situations in NFHS Rule, Illustrated, or Casebook.

Situation One:

A1 has possession of ball, has not taken a dribble, and has established a pivot foot. While still on feet, A1 touches the ball to the floor while still in hands. I remember this from a couple of years ago but can't find it in any of the NFHS books. Thanks.

Situation Two:

A1 throws the ball inbounds from a designated spot to A2. A1 gets one foot inbounds and the second foot has left the out of bounds spot but not yet established an inbounds position. I have been calling this a violation (thinking A1 is OOB until both feet are inbounds) but again can't find anything in NFHS. Thanks again for the help.

Bart Tyson Sun Jan 05, 2003 04:34pm

iTS NOT IN THE RULE BOOK BECAUSE BOTH SITUATIONS ARE LEGAL PLAYS. If the rule does not say it is illegal than it is legal. So, situation one- it is leagal to touch the ball to the floor. Situation two - you have been calling it wrong,- Your status on the court is where you last touch,i.e. one foot inbounds and the other in the air- =inbounds.

In situation Two i am assuming the ball was passed back to A1 from A2.

[Edited by Bart Tyson on Jan 5th, 2003 at 03:37 PM]

bob jenkins Sun Jan 05, 2003 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chayce
I need some help finding a couple of situations in NFHS Rule, Illustrated, or Casebook.

Situation One:

A1 has possession of ball, has not taken a dribble, and has established a pivot foot. While still on feet, A1 touches the ball to the floor while still in hands. I remember this from a couple of years ago but can't find it in any of the NFHS books. Thanks.



4-15-4 Note 3



Bart Tyson Sun Jan 05, 2003 04:43pm

Also, in Situation one, this is not a dribble. As you described it, the ball never left the hands so he can touch the ball to the floor as many times as he wants and still have his dribble available as long as he maintains a hold of the ball while touching the floor.

mick Sun Jan 05, 2003 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chayce
I need some help finding a couple of situations in NFHS Rule, Illustrated, or Casebook.

Situation One:

A1 has possession of ball, has not taken a dribble, and has established a pivot foot. While still on feet, A1 touches the ball to the floor while still in hands. I remember this from a couple of years ago but can't find it in any of the NFHS books. Thanks.

Situation Two:

A1 throws the ball inbounds from a designated spot to A2. A1 gets one foot inbounds and the second foot has left the out of bounds spot but not yet established an inbounds position. I have been calling this a violation (thinking A1 is OOB until both feet are inbounds) but again can't find anything in NFHS. Thanks again for the help.

Sitch 1 - Dribble 4-15-4 (note 3.)

Sitch 2. - Player location 4.35.2b Situation

PAULK1 Sun Jan 05, 2003 06:20pm

Mick,
reread 4-15-4 note 3 this is not a dribble

mick Sun Jan 05, 2003 06:24pm

Ya think?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PAULK1
Mick,
reread 4-15-4 note 3 this is not a dribble

...But the Title of Section 4-15 <u>is</u> Dribble. ;)

PAULK1 Sun Jan 05, 2003 06:35pm

Duh-huh,
I get it now......Sorry

Bart Tyson Sun Jan 05, 2003 06:53pm

PAULK1, I also thought Mick was saying this was a Dribble. So, Ditto-Duh-huh

mick Sun Jan 05, 2003 06:59pm

Communication.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
PAULK1, I also thought Mick was saying this was a Dribble. So, Ditto-Duh-huh
My only defense is ... I am left-handed. I think differently in my right mind.
Seemed imperfectly clear to me.


chayce Mon Jan 06, 2003 02:23pm

It seems that situation 2 is very similar to establishing front court position. If A1 has one foot in the frontcourt (his pivot foot)and one foot still in the backcourt, when is he considered frontcourt?: when he picks his back foot up or when he actually touches the front court with his back foot thereby meeting the both feet and ball requirement?

Rule 4.4.2 states, "a ball which is in contact with a player is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt."

I understand this to mean that as soon as his backfoot leaves the ground, he is in frontcourt. Is this right?

mick Mon Jan 06, 2003 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chayce
It seems that situation 2 is very similar to establishing front court position. If A1 has one foot in the frontcourt (his pivot foot)and one foot still in the backcourt, when is he considered frontcourt?: when he picks his back foot up or when he actually touches the front court with his back foot thereby meeting the both feet and ball requirement?

Rule 4.4.2 states, "a ball which is in contact with a player is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt."

I understand this to mean that as soon as his backfoot leaves the ground, he is in frontcourt. Is this right?

See Case 4.4.1 Situation a.

Hawks Coach Mon Jan 06, 2003 08:57pm

Re: Communication.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mick
Quote:

My only defense is ... I am left-handed. I think differently in my right mind.
I knew it had to be something - the truth finally comes out ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1