The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or no call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6775-backcourt-no-call.html)

NC_rec_ref Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:10pm

2nd year ref-want to get it right. Situation last night:
Sit 1. Team A with ball in backcourt, A1 moves ball to front court in her possession. Closely guarded by B1 and B1 knocks ball away from A1, off A1 leg and into backcourt. A1 returns to backcourt and regains possession. I made no call, coach went bananas. Is it backcourt or no call?

Sit. 2 Same situation, only this time A1 dribbles it off her shoe, ball goes into backcourt and she retrieves. Backcourt?

Sit. 3 (sorry, I think in 3's-drives my company crazy!)
Same situation only now, B1 knocks ball directly into backcourt. A1 retrieves. BAckcourt?

Want to get this right before I call again this Sat. All wisdom welcomed.
Thanks,
CH

Lotto Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by NC_rec_ref
2nd year ref-want to get it right. Situation last night:
Sit 1. Team A with ball in backcourt, A1 moves ball to front court in her possession. Closely guarded by B1 and B1 knocks ball away from A1, off A1 leg and into backcourt. A1 returns to backcourt and regains possession. I made no call, coach went bananas. Is it backcourt or no call?

Sit. 2 Same situation, only this time A1 dribbles it off her shoe, ball goes into backcourt and she retrieves. Backcourt?

Sit. 3 (sorry, I think in 3's-drives my company crazy!)
Same situation only now, B1 knocks ball directly into backcourt. A1 retrieves. BAckcourt?

Want to get this right before I call again this Sat. All wisdom welcomed.
Thanks,
CH

Violation, violation, nothing.

Team A possession, ball has front court status, team A last touch before ball goes into backcourt, team A first touch after ball goes into backcourt = violation.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 31, 2002 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by NC_rec_ref
2nd year ref-want to get it right. Situation last night:
Sit 1. Team A with ball in backcourt, A1 moves ball to front court in her possession. Closely guarded by B1 and B1 knocks ball away from A1, off A1 leg and into backcourt. A1 returns to backcourt and regains possession. I made no call, coach went bananas. Is it backcourt or no call?

Sit. 2 Same situation, only this time A1 dribbles it off her shoe, ball goes into backcourt and she retrieves. Backcourt?

Sit. 3 (sorry, I think in 3's-drives my company crazy!)
Same situation only now, B1 knocks ball directly into backcourt. A1 retrieves. BAckcourt?

Want to get this right before I call again this Sat. All wisdom welcomed.
Thanks,
CH

As Lotto stated, 1 and 2 are violations. 3 is not.

A must have team control.
FC status must be established.
A must be the last to touch the ball before it goes BC.
A must be the first to touch the ball after it goes BC.

Although #1 may seem unfair to you, you're penalizing good defense if you don't call it.

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 01, 2003 09:03am

In these situations, it might help to think of the OOB rules. This isn't football where impetus (one of the coolest words ever) matters - the ball is OOB due to whomever last touched or was touched by the ball. Here, B1 gave the impetus but it does not matter, because A1 caused the ball to go BC (touched him last).

Also, if you can memorize the four BC call conditions, you'll be all set. Running through them quickly before a call/no call can be a big help.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This isn't football where impetus (one of the coolest words ever) matters -
You wouldn't think "impetus" would be so cool if you were older and had that problem.It can cause many hours of worrying,has broken up marriages,and it is thought to be the cause of many physchological problems.Even the use of that wonder drug, Viagra,has not helped that much.You have to be very,very careful using it if you have heart problems.Yes,you.....

What?

Oh,IMPETUS!

Never mind.
http://snltranscripts.jt.org/75/pics/75gupdate1.jpg

NC_rec_ref Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:14pm

Well, Pranged that call. Thanks for the info-spending my New Year's reviewing the rule book.


BTW-always wanted to know how impetus worked with the "prostrate"

Thanks all.
C

dblref Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by NC_rec_ref
Well, Pranged that call. Thanks for the info-spending my New Year's reviewing the rule book.


BTW-always wanted to know how impetus worked with the "prostrate"

Thanks all.
C

"Pranged" that call? Is this a NC word? (I lived there for 6 years). :D

Mark Dexter Wed Jan 01, 2003 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This isn't football where impetus (one of the coolest words ever) matters -
You wouldn't think "impetus" would be so cool if you were older and had that problem.It can cause many hours of worrying,has broken up marriages,and it is thought to be the cause of many physchological problems.Even the use of that wonder drug, Viagra,has not helped that much.You have to be very,very careful using it if you have heart problems.Yes,you.....

What?

Oh,IMPETUS!

Never mind.
http://snltranscripts.jt.org/75/pics/75gupdate1.jpg

I'm Mark Dexter, and you're not.

THIS ISN'T FOOTBALL WHERE IMPETUS (ONE OF THE COOLEST WORDS EVER) MATTERS

Good night, and have a pleasant tomorrow. :)

http://snltranscripts.jt.org/75/pics/75gupdate2.jpg

(BTW, seems like someone is a bit impotent when it comes to hearing!)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 01, 2003 04:41pm

Quote:

[/B]
I'm Mark Dexter, and you're not.

[/B][/QUOTE]http://213.239.157.21/smilies/bluesbrother.gif

ChuckElias Wed Jan 01, 2003 06:33pm

http://snltranscripts.jt.org/75/pics/75gupdate1.jpg

What happened to Chevy Chase's career? I can sum it up for you in three grams. . . :eek:

Chuck

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 01, 2003 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias

What happened to Chevy Chase's career? I can sum it up for you in three grams. . . :eek:


Agree.I guess you could say that his career went up his nose!
http://213.239.157.21/smilies/dunce.gif

Rich Wed Jan 01, 2003 07:19pm

I worked with a guy I really respect on Saturday who said that if this play happened:

(1) A1 in frontcourt
(2) B1 knocks ball from A1 hands
(3) Hits A1's leg in frontcourt
(4) Rolls to backcourt
(5) First touched by A player

he would never call it a backcourt violation. He knows the rule, mind you, but he said that he would never call it.

Interesting.

I would call it. I don't think the rule is necessarily equitable, but I would call the violation.

Rich

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 01, 2003 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
he would never call it a backcourt violation. He knows the rule, mind you, but he said that he would never call it.

Interesting.

I would call it. I don't think the rule is necessarily equitable, but I would call the violation.

Rich

Wow. That would sure make an awful interesting no-call in a state final,wouldn't it? Especially in a close ballgame with a knowledgeable coach and a coupla evaluators or supervisors present.

I can think of a few rules that I don't like that much either,but you still have to call them.There's also the problem of always being equally fair to both teams.Ignoring the violation means that you just handed an unfair advantage to the offense,and at the same time you unjustly penalized the defensive team.I think that your partner was completely wrong in this case,Rich.

Hawks Coach Wed Jan 01, 2003 08:23pm

Rick
I used to think this was a bizarre and kind of unfair rule. But then I thought of it slightly differently. That center court line becomes a type of boundary that A must respect once A crosses that boundary. A must initially have team control for it ever to become a boundary. The problem is when A loses physical custody of the ball after they have it in the front court. But since A had control at one point, it is always A's fault if they cannot retain actual physical control of the ball.

If B bats a loose ball OOB, or off A, we differentiate and don't consider it unfair to award the ball to B when they tap off A OOB. The odd thing with backcourt is that A is the only one who has this boundary line in effect. A is lucky if B merely taps backcourt without the ball touching A, because they are able to retrieve the ball. If B taps it off of A but never gets team control, that backcourt line will remain the same boundary for A and they are unlucky. But they were the ones who had and lost control, so either way, you can't call it unfair. A needs to maintain possession, or suffer the potential consequences.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 01, 2003 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
I worked with a guy I really respect on Saturday who said that if this play happened:

(1) A1 in frontcourt
(2) B1 knocks ball from A1 hands
(3) Hits A1's leg in frontcourt
(4) Rolls to backcourt
(5) First touched by A player

he would never call it a backcourt violation. He knows the rule, mind you, but he said that he would never call it.

Interesting.

I would call it. I don't think the rule is necessarily equitable, but I would call the violation.

Rich

So, if the same play happened and the ball went OOB, would he give it back to A?

It's the same play. Ask him about it the next time you see him.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1