The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 07:12pm
TGR TGR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 44
This thread has been sitting out here for awhile. The intent of the rule is simple. If a player from Team A is OOB and ready to throw the ball in, but extends the ball across the boundary line, a member of Team B shall have the opportunity to touch/slap/hit it or grab hold of it to cause a held ball. However, if a teammate of the inbounder touches/slaps/hits or grabs hold of the ball, it is a violation.

Those of you who remember years ago when a player from Team B DID NOT have the right to do what I wrote in the above paragraphs because a Technical Foul would have been called probably understand what I'm getting at. If you recall, coaches used to teach players to purposely extend the ball across the boundary plane in order to get a technical foul called. So, the change was made to stop that from occurring.

However, that change DID NOT give the Team who's inbounding the right to touch/slap/hit or grab the ball that has been extended over the boundary plane on an inbounds play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1