I agree
Mark,
I like the idea but if I was the coach I would say that would be like calling a charge and then on the way to the scorer's table deciding to change it to a block. You shouldn't do either, says Coach A. Just a tough situation caused by my mis-hearing. I wasn't quick with the trigger actually. I waited for a couple of seconds and could have sworn on a stack of Bibles that the kid said what I thought he did.
I actually did what you suggested, I waved it off and put the ball back in play as if the T had never been assessed. Coach B didn't like it and complained bitterly but I told my partner that I was givng Coach B a free pass on this one and not to "T" him up no matter what. He was more upset that I would not go to the alternating possession than he was that I put the "T" back in my pocket. I told him that we were resuming the game at the point of the call which gave team A the ball back.
After further review, I think I did the right thing from the standpoint of treating the players fairly but I don't think what I did can be justified in any way by the rule book!
|