The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/66201-inbounds.html)

Johnny Ringo Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:38pm

Inbounds
 
NFHS: I know if a player is off the court (after running OOB after a ball, etc ...) they only have to have someting back in before touching the ball. i.e. one foot.

What I can't find is if you are the inbounder on a throw in, if the same guideline applies?

Play: A1 makes throw in to A2. A2 then passes ball back to A1 who only established one foot inbounds and then touches ball. Legal?

constable Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 746550)
NFHS: I know if a player is off the court (after running OOB after a ball, etc ...) they only have to have someting back in before touching the ball. i.e. one foot.

What I can't find is if you are the inbounder on a throw in, if the same guideline applies?

Play: A1 makes throw in to A2. A2 then passes ball back to A1 who only established one foot inbounds and then touches ball. Legal?

Yes.

bainsey Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:17pm

Think about this: If you have one foot inbounds and the other foot in the air, are you inbounds?

justacoach Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:18pm

Which of your 'friends' are you asking this elementary question on behalf of?

Johnny Ringo Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:53am

Thanks. I could not find that particular play in the books. I knew it to be true for something where the player went OOB during play, but was not sure if the throw-in person had it different.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 04, 2011 03:52am

Check your NFHS Case Book. You'll find it there.

Indianaref Mon Apr 04, 2011 07:39am

SITUATION: Thrower A1 inbounds the ball to A2. A2 immediately throws the ball back to A1. When A1 touches the pass, he/she has: (a) both feet touching inbounds; (b) one foot touching inbounds and one out of bounds; or (c) one foot touching inbounds and the other not touching the floor. RULING: The ball remains live in (a) and (c), but A1 has caused the ball to be out of bounds in (b). (4-4-4)

BktBallRef Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 746584)
Thanks. I could not find that particular play in the books. I knew it to be true for something where the player went OOB during play, but was not sure if the throw-in person had it different.


Why would you think the rule wouldn't be consistent in both situations? :confused:

You may or may not find a "particular play in the books," but all you have to do is read the rule regarding when a player is OOB to know how to apply it to this situation.

7-1-1
A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.

I really don't understand why that rule is difficult to find or understand.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1