The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 20, 2002, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref

Yes, but does the granting official then return to administer the throw-in if he granted the time-out near the endline? If you do not return, you have just made a switch as if a foul had happened. The problem is that a foul didn't happen.
Generally not.

There are two options (two-person): 1) Officials return to their prior spots (just as if a violation had occurred instead of a TO)

2) Calling official becomes off-ball; non-calling official administers the throw-in.

Neither is inherently "better"; the FED has chosen the former; many states / associations / officials choose the latter.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1