The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kentucky - UConn (or Uconn - Kentucky) Conversation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/66056-kentucky-uconn-uconn-kentucky-conversation.html)

bob jenkins Fri Apr 01, 2011 01:00pm

Kentucky - UConn (or Uconn - Kentucky) Conversation
 
talkety talk here

Nevadaref Fri Apr 01, 2011 06:34pm

Kentucky is favored by 2

Judtech Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:10am

I emotionally don't care. But on the other hand, if UK does win I hope it is only by 1 :D
I did an informal suvey and found it interesting that just about eveyone I talked to knew VCU and Butler were in the Final Four, but were shaky on these two.

APG Sat Apr 02, 2011 05:04pm

Chat Room - Join a Free Chat Room or Get Your Own Free Chat Room From ParaChat

APG Sun Apr 03, 2011 05:00am

<iframe title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/L0lpR3SpfV8?hd=1" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="390" width="640"></iframe>

Agree disagree?

APG Sun Apr 03, 2011 05:02am

<iframe title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/aNBqQri5UCc?hd=1" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="390" width="640"></iframe>

Basket interference? Beside the travel at the beginning of the dribble is the landing on the jump stop "close enough" or something you would get?

APG Sun Apr 03, 2011 05:03am

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/f1ukvaC82XY?hd=1" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Do you think continuous motion applies here?

Bad Zebra Sun Apr 03, 2011 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 746354)
Basket interference? Beside the travel at the beginning of the dribble is the landing on the jump stop "close enough" or something you would get?

Goaltending if anything. Looks like UConn player swats shot away on downward flight.

Bad Zebra Sun Apr 03, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 746353)
<iframe title="YouTube video player" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/L0lpR3SpfV8?hd=1" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="390" width="640"></iframe>

Agree disagree?

Sooo close...even in slow mo, I defer to officials judgement on the spot.

mbyron Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 746387)
Goaltending if anything. Looks like UConn player swats shot away on downward flight.

I thought it had bounced on the rim. Can't tell from the angle.

I did have a travel on both ends of that dribble, though.

dailydoseofLZ Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:15am

Weak from the Lead, MY OPINION of couse...
 
There was a foul called on KY's post player, can't remember if it was his second or third. It was called from the L on a rebound. The rebounder did get bumped a little, but did not bobble, stumble, or act as though it even affected him at all. I thought it was weak from the L and don't think the T or C had anything.

Agree or disagree???

APG Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dailydoseofLZ (Post 746416)
There was a foul called on KY's post player, can't remember if it was his second or third. It was called from the L on a rebound. The rebounder did get bumped a little, but did not bobble, stumble, or act as though it even affected him at all. I thought it was weak from the L and don't think the T or C had anything.

Agree or disagree???

Find the time of the play and I'll put it up.

dailydoseofLZ Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:46am

APG,,, why am I not able to view the video's posted? What type of setting do I need to change?

Judtech Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:19pm

A Calipari coached team couldn't make the big play in the big game?!?!:eek:
It MUST be an abberation.
Calhoun sort of looked bored. Like "Lets get this over with so we can play in the National Championship game." Also, Calipari spent a whole lot of time on the floor!

dailydoseofLZ Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:29pm

I was watching the game live and do not know the time of the rebounding foul on KY post player. It was on Ky's offensive end (first half) but can't remember if it was his 2nd or 3rd. Although I don't think he had three at the half though so it must have been his 2nd....

canuckrefguy Sun Apr 03, 2011 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 746387)
Goaltending if anything. Looks like UConn player swats shot away on downward flight.

Can't be goaltending - ball's already hit the rim.

Too close - hair-splitter - in which case, play on.

SAJ Sun Apr 03, 2011 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 746354)
Basket interference? Beside the travel at the beginning of the dribble is the landing on the jump stop "close enough" or something you would get?

Knight traveled twice in about 10ft. that "jump stop" runner is rarely called imo

Pantherdreams Sun Apr 03, 2011 07:00pm

Huge travel missed on knights takeoff, I'm not convinced the move at the end is a travel. I don't see a gather until he's already air borne which makes his landing a regular 2 count stop (pro-hop?) and legitimate.

FIBA I know that is legal to knock the ball away once it is in the rim cylinder or not I'm not sure about NFHS/NCAA.

SAJ Sun Apr 03, 2011 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 746512)
Huge travel missed on knights takeoff, I'm not convinced the move at the end is a travel. I don't see a gather until he's already air borne which makes his landing a regular 2 count stop (pro-hop?) and legitimate.

His left foot was on the floor with ball gathered about 4 feet outside the free throw lane, jumped, landed on the left foot, and then right foot....travel.

Pantherdreams Sun Apr 03, 2011 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAJ (Post 746514)
His left foot was on the floor with ball gathered about 4 feet outside the free throw lane, jumped, landed on the left foot, and then right foot....travel.

From the video posted I can't tell when his foot leaves or when its actually both hands until after he clears the defenders he's splitting. He may have two hands sooner or before he leaps but I don't clearly see that in the video.

canuckrefguy Sun Apr 03, 2011 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAJ (Post 746514)
His left foot was on the floor with ball gathered about 4 feet outside the free throw lane, jumped, landed on the left foot, and then right foot....travel.

True. But NCAA you can swipe away as long as it's not in the cylinder of the hoop. This one wasn't "in" IMO.

Camron Rust Sun Apr 03, 2011 09:53pm

On the block/charge...I can't disagree with the call. It was very close.

On the BI, wrong angle to tell of the ball was off the other side or not.

Continuous motion, yes.

Jumpstop/Travel...not a travel....close enough.

btaylor64 Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:09pm

This is what I have on the 3 video plays:

1) Blocking foul - the defender is still coming slightly forward imo

2) NOT goaltending- ball hits rim and is coming away from the rim

3) Easily continuation

Welpe Mon Apr 04, 2011 07:51am

1) Too close. I'll go with the official on the floor. Love the common-tater's comment though. :rolleyes:

2) Not goaltending (obviously) and I agree with Camron that we don't have a good angle to tell where the ball is. I do think the "jump stop" was a travel.

3) I have no problem with continuous motion on that shot.

DesMoines Mon Apr 04, 2011 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 746512)
FIBA I know that is legal to knock the ball away once it is in the rim cylinder or not I'm not sure about NFHS/NCAA.

Here's one for you: In the NBA-DL (or... NBE-DL) this year they are playing the FIBA rule on this... but not up at the next level. Haven't heard how that's working out, but I saw the press release at the beginning of the year on the change. Thought it was a little strange.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1