The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   slapping backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6569-slapping-backboard.html)

BigDave Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:15am

B1 attempts to block a shot. He doesn't make contact with the ball, but does contact the backboard. The contact with the backboard was a result of the block attempt. Anything?

Partners says he has to contact the ball on the block attempt or it's a T.

williebfree Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:21am

If it is a legitimate block attempt and contact is made on the backboard, no call. If in your judgement the slap on the backboard is deliberate... T for two (shots):D

ScottParks Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:33am

Legitimate attempt to block a shot, no matter how hard he hits the board I got nothing.

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 13, 2002 11:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by BigDave
B1 attempts to block a shot. He doesn't make contact with the ball, but does contact the backboard. The contact with the backboard was a result of the block attempt. Anything?

Partners says he has to contact the ball on the block attempt or it's a T.

It's partners like that who don't know such simple rules that give the rest of us a bad reputation. Tell your partner to buy a rule book, read it and remember what he read.

Then puke on his shoes.

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Dec 13, 2002 11:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
So many coaches. So few meteors.
So many officials. Plenty of ugly striped shirts and ill-fitting pants! :D

BigDave Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett

It's partners like that who don't know such simple rules that give the rest of us a bad reputation. Tell your partner to buy a rule book, read it and remember what he read.

Then puke on his shoes.

My partner was fine to work with. Had a good game in all aspects. But considering he is also a JuCo official, I was a little surprised he didn't know the rule.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by BigDave
B1 attempts to block a shot. He doesn't make contact with the ball, but does contact the backboard. The contact with the backboard was a result of the block attempt. Anything?

Partners says he has to contact the ball on the block attempt or it's a T.

It's partners like that who don't know such simple rules that give the rest of us a bad reputation. Tell your partner to buy a rule book, read it and remember what he read.

Then puke on his shoes.


Tell your partner to read the casebook too, because this exact play is covered in the NFHS Casebook.

tw1ns Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:52pm

Did the Ball Go In?
 
Legitimate attempt to block a shot, no matter how hard he hits the board I got nothing.
__________________________________________________ ______
I disagree. If he is slapping the backboard and the ball doesn't go in, isn't it basket interference? It depends on where the ball is at the time.


ScottParks Fri Dec 13, 2002 01:02pm

Re: Did the Ball Go In?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tw1ns
Legitimate attempt to block a shot, no matter how hard he hits the board I got nothing.
__________________________________________________ ______
I disagree. If he is slapping the backboard and the ball doesn't go in, isn't it basket interference? It depends on where the ball is at the time.


OK. We agree to disagree.

Our rules guru says what I said above.

Here's the rule

ART. 6 . . .
a.
b. While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate.

Here's the case

CONTACTING THE BACKBOARD
10.3.6 SITUATION: A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. Ruling: In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket. Comment: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-8.

I don't see where we can penalize a player making a legitimate block attempt for striking the backboard.

ChuckElias Fri Dec 13, 2002 01:43pm

Re: Did the Ball Go In?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tw1ns
I disagree. If he is slapping the backboard and the ball doesn't go in, isn't it basket interference? It depends on where the ball is at the time.
Hi twins. Welcome to the board. Because your new here, I'm turning off my normal sarcasm. (Don't tell anyone I've gone soft, tho! ;) ). But here is something to file away: in HS and NCAA, touching the backboard, is NEVER basket interference. It's not goaltending, either. Never.

Go to Rule 4 (Definitions) and look up basket interference. The definitions are very explicit and touching the backboard isn't in there. Never.

I don't mean to be demeaning, so I hope I haven't come across that way. (Remember, Never!!)

Chuck

tw1ns Fri Dec 13, 2002 01:45pm

Re: Re: Did the Ball Go In?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ScottParks
Quote:

Originally posted by tw1ns
Legitimate attempt to block a shot, no matter how hard he hits the board I got nothing.
__________________________________________________ ______
I disagree. If he is slapping the backboard and the ball doesn't go in, isn't it basket interference? It depends on where the ball is at the time.


OK. We agree to disagree.


I don't see where we can penalize a player making a legitimate block attempt for striking the backboard.

Why should you penalize the shooter for making a LEGITIMATE SHOT attempt, only to be taken away from someone slapping the backboard. What I am saying is that it has to be pretty hard to keep the ball from going in. Gotta be a T if is that hard.

rockyroad Fri Dec 13, 2002 01:54pm

Re: Re: Re: Did the Ball Go In?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tw1ns
[B
Why should you penalize the shooter for making a LEGITIMATE SHOT attempt, only to be taken away from someone slapping the backboard. What I am saying is that it has to be pretty hard to keep the ball from going in. Gotta be a T if is that hard. [/B]
No it doesn't...read the rule again...it doesn't say anything about how hard the board is hit...it does say that if it is a legitimate block attempt, we call nothing...do you remember the Ted Valentine/Bobby Knight fiasco several years ago - Bobby Knight had the same take on this rule that you do...he was wrong then, you are wrong now...

And to Chuck - I was very impressed with your self-control...what do you think of the kid getting your Sox a new second baseman??

ChuckElias Fri Dec 13, 2002 03:01pm

The Hot Stove!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
what do you think of the kid getting your Sox a new second baseman??
I happened to like Sanchez, but he clearly was not producing enough at the plate. I thought he a pretty decent gloveman, but that's just not enough anymore. The fact is, the Sox have had problems at second base ever since Duquette traded away Luis Alicea and tried to replace him with the wife-beater from Montreal. I can't even remember his name anymore. I think Lou Merloni could probably handle the job, but he too has struggled at the plate, and Pokey Reece was way overrated and just never panned out. So while something was needed, I'll wait and see. Didn't cost much to get him, tho, so probably nothing lost even if Walker doesn't work out. Last season was his best year in a pretty non-descript career. So my guess is that he'll return to non-descript next season. But we'll see, I guess.

Chuck

ronald Sun Dec 15, 2002 01:01am

A thought to mull over on. Let's say you got on a ladder, put your hand on the rim and had a player simulate slapping the backboard (obviously this is intentional but the idea is to discern if this vibrates the ring). Now you find out that this vibrates the ring. And you do this ten times and each time it vibrates. Can you now call a T based on that knowledge or should write Federation and ask them to change the rule. Just a thought.

It's clear what the Feds interpretation is but may be they overlooked this or really do not know what causes the ring to vibrate.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 15, 2002 10:28am

it's all about intent
 
10-3-6b While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate.

I interpret the word intentionally in the last clause of 10-3-6b to apply to both striking the backboard and causing the ring to vibrate. Therefore, if I don't believe the player is intentionally trying to cause the ring to vibrate, I don't call the T.
Of course, I have no doubt that any slap of the backboard, intentional or not, does cause the ring to vibrate, and therefore think that it would be better if the NFHS clarified that the vibrating the ring must be intentional to be a technical foul with a case book play.
Until then, I will continue to read the rule this way.

RookieDude Sun Dec 15, 2002 12:04pm

Two Slaps in one game...
 
Funny thing about slapping the backboard...from a fan's perspective we are inconsistent. Sometimes they see us pass when an opponent slaps the backboard (when he is obviously going for the block and makes contact with the backboard), and sometimes they see us make the call when an opponent slaps the backboard (when he is just slapping the backboard for reasons other than trying to block a shot).

I believe players do not fully understand this rule either.
Friday night we had two instances where the backboard was "slapped".
The first instance the player was clearly trying to block his opponents shot and "slapped" the backboard as he missed the block...ball went in the basket...no call.
Later in the game...a player from the same team, that saw his teammate "get away" with slapping the backboard, decided to try the same thing. Only this time that player had no chance of blocking the shot, but in my judgement was trying to "slap" the backboard so hard that it would either intimidate the shooter or vibrate the ring so that the ball would not go in. (The ball, in fact, did not go in)
Boom..."T"
So now, anytime many of these uninformed fans see a backboard being slapped they will scream for the "T".

Hmmmmm, I guess there are probably many rules that players and fans don't fully understand....;)

Dude


dhodges007 Sun Dec 15, 2002 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigDave
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett

It's partners like that who don't know such simple rules that give the rest of us a bad reputation. Tell your partner to buy a rule book, read it and remember what he read.

Then puke on his shoes.

My partner was fine to work with. Had a good game in all aspects. But considering he is also a JuCo official, I was a little surprised he didn't know the rule.

Dave, I agree with the rest...I've got nothing. See you Thursday.


rockyroad Sun Dec 15, 2002 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ronald
A thought to mull over on. Let's say you got on a ladder, put your hand on the rim and had a player simulate slapping the backboard (obviously this is intentional but the idea is to discern if this vibrates the ring). Now you find out that this vibrates the ring. And you do this ten times and each time it vibrates. Can you now call a T based on that knowledge or should write Federation and ask them to change the rule. Just a thought.
What are you talking about?? You call T's based on what the rules tell you to call T's on...I don't care how many times you stand on a ladder and hold the rim, if the defender is making a LEGITIMATE attempt to block the shot and hits the backboard, you have nothing!!

Jeremy Hohn Sun Dec 15, 2002 10:57pm

This is how I call that situation.....
 
Most of the time the slapping of the backboard happens either on a layup or bank shot, correct? So here is a few things I use to help me call this situation.

If the slapping is a legitimate attempt to block the shot, AND the ball hasn't passed through the net already, I leave it alone, to matter how hard the slapping is. If the slapping occurs on the opposite side of the backboard, away from the side of the attempt, I T no matter when it happens. I picked this up from Steve Wellmer, and it hasn't let me down since I implemented it..

ronald Mon Dec 16, 2002 09:52am

Rocky,

first of all, try to understand the intent of my question. Show some decency in your reply rather than ranting in your reply.

Nevada gave an excellent reply to my thought by interpreting intentional to apply to "cause the ring to vibrate". Let's assume that it does not. Then we have a contradiction of rules that need to be clarified and SOOOO which freaking rule do I apply. I had a concern about the interpretation and your reply did nothing to clear it up.

rockyroad Mon Dec 16, 2002 10:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by ronald
Rocky,
Show some decency in your reply rather than ranting in your reply.

Wow...11 whole posts and already you can tell when someone is ranting, and also chastise them for it...you're good...but back to the topic...it is NOT confusing at all...if the defensive player makes a LEGITIMATE ATTEMPT TO BLOCK THE SHOT, and in the process hits the backboard, then there is no T... don't know how much clearer the NFHS has to make it! And if that's ranting, oh well...

ScottParks Mon Dec 16, 2002 11:11am

Re: This is how I call that situation.....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jeremy Hohn
Most of the time the slapping of the backboard happens either on a layup or bank shot, correct? So here is a few things I use to help me call this situation.

If the slapping is a legitimate attempt to block the shot, AND the ball hasn't passed through the net already, I leave it alone, to matter how hard the slapping is. If the slapping occurs on the opposite side of the backboard, away from the side of the attempt, I T no matter when it happens. I picked this up from Steve Wellmer, and it hasn't let me down since I implemented it..

I think you and I are in violent agreement. Key terms being legitimate shot-block attempt. Opposite side of the backboard is fairly easily discerned as not a legitimate attempt.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
[/B]
Wow...11 whole posts and already you can tell when someone is ranting, and also chastise them for it...you're good..... don't know how much clearer the NFHS has to make it! And if that's ranting, oh well... [/B][/QUOTE]Sigh,now Rocky needs a hug!
http://www.gifs.net/animate/ceblobs.gif

This is getting to be a full time job on this board! :D

ScottParks Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:39pm

Let me help you

http://www.gifs.net/animate/kisshug.gif

rockyroad Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:53pm

Yuck...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1