![]() |
Syracuse/Marquette Official
|
Any thoughts about a travel?
|
It might not have been a backcourt violation, but that looks like a travel to me.
Peace |
I definitely thought he traveled.
|
Quote:
|
Well, it certainly looks like a travel, unless he took that "second" step with his right foot after the incorrect whistle and would not have done that if the whistle hadn't blown. Of course, the video doesn't have audio of the play, so I can't really tell. But, in all probability, if the official had not first called the backcourt violation, he would have called the travel so the result of the play was the same as if the backcourt violation would not have been called.
|
Wouldn't his left foot be his pivot?
Catch>land on right>land on left>step with right We can't see if he moves his left with the ref in the way. BTW, way to circle the wagons, even with the ref admitting fault. |
Quote:
We've been saying this since the play first happened. In fact, we were saying he missed the BC call before the media even had it. |
Quote:
Right foot lands on division line (establishing pivot foot); left foot lands in front court; right if lifted off of division line and placed completely in front court (travelling). And it looks like someone is Tardy to the Party: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post741743 |
Boeheim was on Bob Ley's show on ESPN (outside the lines) this afternoon and was pretty classy. He talked about how Marquette still had to make the shot and that one call doesn't decide a game. He also said the official (I think it's actually kind of cool that the media is not using his name, so I won't either) called him and apologized.
I think it's a travel, because I think he completed the catch with his right hand. But this play seems to happen an awful lot where there's an airborne touch, one foot down, but the ball is not gathered in both hands until the second foot is down, and it seems to be called as a two-feet-down catch. If the backcourt hadn't been in the equation and he passed on the travel, would it have been a bad call? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And nobody is defending him. If you ead the other thread, I posted he missed the call within minutes of him making it. Yes, he missed the call. Yes, the player traveled. Would he have traveled had the whistle not blown? We'll never know. Had the whistle not blow, would the travel have been called? We'll never know. |
Quote:
My problem is with what Lurker described and saying it's not a travel. |
Quote:
Also, are we sure it wasn't a 10 sec back court?:p |
Quote:
|
WOW! some of you guys might want to consider decaf. :)
Let me translate circling the wagons in this case. The ref makes a bad call. He apologizes it was a bad call. And yet people here are talking like parents in the stands. "what about the travel? he traveled! Hey ref, look for the travel!" Although in this case, instead of admitting fault of a fellow ref and moving on, the finger pointing at the travel is to "circle the wagons" In my view, with this sort of thing, it is better to take an impartial view. BTW, wrong time of the month for some of yall? Full moon maybe? |
Except what we do as officials is break down plays and judge whether the correct rule was applied and whether it was accurate. Yes there was an incorrect backcourt violation call. There was also a travel that would have occured. It's not an indictment on the official or his abilities. If we can't do that, then forget any of us getting any better from learning from the mistakes of others.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Still waiting for you to explain how catching the ball in the air and then landing on your right foot doesn't make your right foot the pivot. :rolleyes: Let us know when you'll admit that mistake instead of circling your wagon or whatever it is you do when sitting alone in front of a computer. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
The right foot doesn't actually become the pivot foot until the left foot touches in a a step.....that is the nuance in the rule that allows for the jump stop. A player landing on one foot can either establish a pivot foot by stepping with the other foot or they may execute a jumpstop and not have a pivot foot at all. |
If one wants to find an uncalled travel in this tournament, he will have no trouble doing so, in pretty much every game.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Scoring plays, perhaps? Tonight Plumlee for Duke, not the most deceptively nimble guy on the floor, caught the ball on the left side of the rim, took a big step across to the right side on his right foot, followed by the left. Then went up flat footed off 2 feet and dunked. No call. This was one like my son used to call in front of the tv...........when he was about 8 years old. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am. |