![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Right foot lands on division line (establishing pivot foot); left foot lands in front court; right if lifted off of division line and placed completely in front court (travelling). And it looks like someone is Tardy to the Party: 2011 Tournament Discussion Redux
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Boeheim was on Bob Ley's show on ESPN (outside the lines) this afternoon and was pretty classy. He talked about how Marquette still had to make the shot and that one call doesn't decide a game. He also said the official (I think it's actually kind of cool that the media is not using his name, so I won't either) called him and apologized.
I think it's a travel, because I think he completed the catch with his right hand. But this play seems to happen an awful lot where there's an airborne touch, one foot down, but the ball is not gathered in both hands until the second foot is down, and it seems to be called as a two-feet-down catch. If the backcourt hadn't been in the equation and he passed on the travel, would it have been a bad call? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
No problem if that is what you saw. But Lurker made no reference to the ball not being controlled. He said, "Catch>land on right>land on left>step with right", which is quite obviously a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Initially, that is NOT what I saw, as I was focused only on his feet. Easily, a travel call in that instance, assuming he had control of the ball when his first foot landed. But, it appears to me that until he gathered the ball in and had both hands on it, that he did not have control of it. In that case, would it just be ugly looking because he did not lift his left foot prior to starting the dribble?
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
My problem is with what Lurker described and saying it's not a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
The right foot doesn't actually become the pivot foot until the left foot touches in a a step.....that is the nuance in the rule that allows for the jump stop. A player landing on one foot can either establish a pivot foot by stepping with the other foot or they may execute a jumpstop and not have a pivot foot at all.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
If one wants to find an uncalled travel in this tournament, he will have no trouble doing so, in pretty much every game.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
If one wants to find an uncalled travel in ANY basketball game, he will not have trouble doing so, at any level.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Scoring plays, perhaps? Tonight Plumlee for Duke, not the most deceptively nimble guy on the floor, caught the ball on the left side of the rim, took a big step across to the right side on his right foot, followed by the left. Then went up flat footed off 2 feet and dunked. No call. This was one like my son used to call in front of the tv...........when he was about 8 years old.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Tourney - Marquette v. Missouri | actuary77 | Basketball | 54 | Wed Mar 25, 2009 07:26am |
Marquette/Providence | tjones1 | Basketball | 27 | Wed Jan 28, 2009 01:23pm |
Marquette/Nova | derwil | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 03, 2009 02:54am |
Marquette @ Memphis | Indy_Ref | Basketball | 10 | Sat Jan 15, 2005 07:07pm |