The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Syracuse/Marquette Official

Official admits mistake.Head of NCAA officials admits error in late call against Syracuse - The Dagger - NCAABBlog - Yahoo! Sports
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 02:11pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Any thoughts about a travel?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 02:22pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
It might not have been a backcourt violation, but that looks like a travel to me.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 02:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I definitely thought he traveled.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I definitely thought he traveled.
Agreed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 03:03pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Well, it certainly looks like a travel, unless he took that "second" step with his right foot after the incorrect whistle and would not have done that if the whistle hadn't blown. Of course, the video doesn't have audio of the play, so I can't really tell. But, in all probability, if the official had not first called the backcourt violation, he would have called the travel so the result of the play was the same as if the backcourt violation would not have been called.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
Wouldn't his left foot be his pivot?
Catch>land on right>land on left>step with right
We can't see if he moves his left with the ref in the way.

BTW, way to circle the wagons, even with the ref admitting fault.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Tourney - Marquette v. Missouri actuary77 Basketball 54 Wed Mar 25, 2009 07:26am
Marquette/Providence tjones1 Basketball 27 Wed Jan 28, 2009 01:23pm
Marquette/Nova derwil Basketball 1 Sat Jan 03, 2009 02:54am
Marquette @ Memphis Indy_Ref Basketball 10 Sat Jan 15, 2005 07:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1