The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free throw violation by defense (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6540-free-throw-violation-defense.html)

donj Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:44am

Two shot foul. Official administered ball to shooter for first free throw, backs out and then notices one of bottom spaces not occupied by defense. He signals for a free throw lane violation by defense and free throw subsuqently is missed. He points out violation and allows shooter to shoot first shot over. Initially, the official erred by not insuring lane space occupied by the defense, but was this the correct procedure given the circumstance? Please give rule and/or case # for this situation for future reference. Thanks

Hawks Coach Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:57am

Defense must occupy bottom two spaces or it is a violation on the defense. Others may argue over whether or not the official should have done some preventive officiating (I believe that officials should), but once they have not done so, the violation exists and must be enforced.

8-1-3a
Each of the lane spaces adjacent to the end line shall be occupied by one opponent of the free thrower unless the resuming of play procedure is in effect.

9-1 A player shall not violate the following provisions governing free throws:

ART. 2 . . . An opponent of the free thrower shall occupy each lane space adjacent to the end line during the try, unless the resuming of play procedure is in effect and no teammate of the free thrower may occupy either of these lane spaces.

2. If the violation is by the free-thrower's opponent only:
a. If the try is successful, the goal counts and the violation is disregarded.
b. If the try is not successful, the ball becomes dead when the free throw ends, and a substitute throw shall be attempted by the same free thrower under conditions the same as for the free throw for which it is substituted.

Marty Rogers Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:08am

This is a double lane violation. One for Defense NOT being in the first lane space, and one for the Offense BEING there when he shouldn't be. (See ART 2 in Hawk's post, disregard the rest of it). If the ref notices it before the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, he should just tell the kids to get in the right spaces. If he notices it after the thrower has the ball (like in your example), blow the whistle right away, no shot, or if the kid does shoot, basket can't count.

If this is the last free throw, then you administer by AP possession. If there is one more shot, players occupy correct lane spaces, thrower shoots, and play on from made or missed free throw.

PS It should ALWAYS be noticed before thrower gets ball.
That is the official's job, otherwise, he screwed up.

BktBallRef Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:16am

Where did he say that an offensive player was occupying the spot? I only see where he said the defender was not occupying it. Or are you just assuming?

Hawks Coach Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:18am

marty points out something that he assumes happened, while I assumed the opposite. I assumed an empty first space, in which case, my answer stands. If the space was occupied by the offense, then Marty is correct. We both should have requested more info before answering - but I saw no mention of the offense being in the first space.

donj Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:20am

Marty,
 
This was not a double lane violation. The offense (shooting team) was in their right spaces. The defense did not fill one of the bottom spaces and it was empty. And YES the administering official screwed up. He admitted it but there was still a violation by not having one of the lower spaces filled by the defense. All that I wanted to know was was this the correct call/procedure and where in the rule/case book is this outlined? Thanks

BktBallRef Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:26am

Re: Marty,
 
Quote:

Originally posted by donj
This was not a double lane violation. The offense (shooting team) was in their right spaces. The defense did not fill one of the bottom spaces and it was empty. And YES the administering official screwed up. He admitted it but there was still a violation by not having one of the lower spaces filled by the defense. All that I wanted to know was was this the correct call/procedure and where in the rule/case book is this outlined? Thanks
While, yes, the official made a mistake, it is still ultimately the defensive team's requirement to fill the space. There's enough blame to pass around here.

DownTownTonyBrown Wed Dec 11, 2002 12:43pm

Casebook
 
Situation 9.1.2 beginning on page 61 of the 2002-03 Casebook.

Hawks Coach Wed Dec 11, 2002 03:18pm

One last point for the coaches who drop by the board. If you are the offensive team AND the defensive team fails to fill the block AND your player decides to hop in AND the ref doesn't catch it until your shooter has the ball - you will lose a FT. It is an odd result of this violation that really starts with the defense not being in the right spot. Your player, by assuming the wrong spot, has also violated and on a double violation, your FT is now gone.

ScottParks Wed Dec 11, 2002 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
One last point for the coaches who drop by the board. If you are the offensive team AND the defensive team fails to fill the block AND your player decides to hop in AND the ref doesn't catch it until your shooter has the ball - you will lose a FT. It is an odd result of this violation that really starts with the defense not being in the right spot. Your player, by assuming the wrong spot, has also violated and on a double violation, your FT is now gone.
And I was expecting you to "quote" the rule book in your first post! :(

Hawks Coach Wed Dec 11, 2002 03:23pm

Takes too long to type all that stuff out :D

Camron Rust Wed Dec 11, 2002 04:48pm

This happened to me last night. I was lead administering the 1st of 2. I checked and had defenders in the low blocks. Ready to bounce. Horn...subs. Partner brings them in. I bounce the ball to the shooter and as I step back, I see that the defender that was there (low block opposite the table) is now gone. Where did he go? He was at the top of the lane. He must have moved when I looked to the table to verify how many subs were coming in/going out.

It was my error for not RE-checking the blocks.

ScottParks Wed Dec 11, 2002 04:53pm

I try to do the same thing every time.

Tell myself (and sometimes out loud)
1. Blue down low
2. Let it hit and play straight up

AK ref SE Wed Dec 11, 2002 05:53pm

Scott-
What if neither team is BLUE?

AK ref SE

DownTownTonyBrown Wed Dec 11, 2002 05:58pm

Tisk tisk tisk
 
Camron what was your partner doing bringing subs in on the first freethrow of a two shot foul?

Was either team Blue?

Marty Rogers Wed Dec 11, 2002 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
marty points out something that he assumes happened, while I assumed the opposite. I assumed an empty first space, in which case, my answer stands. If the space was occupied by the offense, then Marty is correct. We both should have requested more info before answering - but I saw no mention of the offense being in the first space.
Hawk: I guess I figured there was a player in the other lane space, otherwise it would have been REALLY obvious that it was unoccupied. You were right, sorry.

ScottParks Wed Dec 11, 2002 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AK ref SE
Scott-
What if neither team is BLUE?

AK ref SE

DOH! I hope there was an implied smilie in there.

If not, this was an example for a foul on blue, where the home team is shooting and its the last shot of a 2 shot foul.

How's that?

Camron Rust Wed Dec 11, 2002 07:33pm

Re: Tisk tisk tisk
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Camron what was your partner doing bringing subs in on the first freethrow of a two shot foul?

Was either team Blue?

Actualy, I stated the situation wrong---brain freeze. He didn't bring them in before #1. The horn had blown for subs, he told them to wait. I think that is where the confusion occured. The player that was in the blocks moved thinking the expected incoming sub was going to take the spot. I didn't catch that he changed places and left the low block empty.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 12, 2002 02:43am

Does anyone else see this as a possible team technical foul?

10-1-5b Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play.

9.1.2 ....In this case, the trail official uses the resuming-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration.

From these two citations it appears that the defensive team is delaying the game since the official is required by rule not to administer the free throw until the bottom spaces are properly occupied. I do not believe that the game should be held up for a team that does not promptly come and fill these spaces. Just as we T the free throw shooter who is not in the semi-circle under 10-3-7c.

I will end this by saying that this interpretation is quite harsh (Remember that I wrote "possible team technical" above, not automatic.) and that I would not call it unless I was standing in the lane with the ball with a free throw shooter waiting for me to administer and the defensive team was elsewhere ignoring us. (For example, huddling at their bench.) However, I do believe that the T is justified by the rules.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Dec 12th, 2002 at 01:45 AM]

bob jenkins Thu Dec 12, 2002 08:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Does anyone else see this as a possible team technical foul?

10-1-5b Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play.


If the official told B to occupy the lower two spaces, and B refused, then it's a delay T on B (assuming the resuming of play procedure is not ine effect).

If the official (as in the case in this thread) just did not notice B was not in the space, then it's just a violation on B. Treat it the same as if B was in the space, but left it early.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1