The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   foul off the ball while shot is in the flight (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6490-foul-off-ball-while-shot-flight.html)

timharris Sun Dec 08, 2002 09:35am

hello everyone

a=offense b=defense

a1 has released his shot from behind the 3 point arc, while the ball is in flight.

question#1 b1 pushes a2 in the back and a is not in the bonus how is this administered?

question#2 a3 pushes b3 in the back and b is in tne bonus,
how is this administered?

Nevadaref Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris
hello everyone

a=offense b=defense

a1 has released his shot from behind the 3 point arc, while the ball is in flight.

question#1 b1 pushes a2 in the back and a is not in the bonus how is this administered?

question#2 a3 pushes b3 in the back and b is in tne bonus,
how is this administered?

Tim,
In both cases, the 3-point shot counts if it is made, since the ball was released prior to the foul and will remain live until the try ends.
#1 Team A ball out-of-bounds at the spot near the foul.
#2 B3 will shoot 1-and-1 at the other end.

Lastly, in #1 if Team A was in the bonus, A2 would shoot 1-and-1. And in #2 if the shot had not yet been released when the foul occurred the ball would be dead immediately and the shot would not count.

devdog69 Sun Dec 08, 2002 11:51am

Nevadaref is completely correct, just wanted to add that in #1, if A1 is in the act of shooting but has not yet released the shot when the foul occurs, it would still count if it goes.
So if you had
A1 jumps to shoot a three
B2 fouls A3, whistle just as A1 releases shot, basket goes;
Count the bucket A gets ball out of bounds or shoots bonus...

bob jenkins Sun Dec 08, 2002 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris
hello everyone

a=offense b=defense

a1 has released his shot from behind the 3 point arc, while the ball is in flight.

question#1 b1 pushes a2 in the back and a is not in the bonus how is this administered?

question#2 a3 pushes b3 in the back and b is in tne bonus,
how is this administered?

Unless the "push" hindered the opponent from making normal defensive of offensive maneuvers, it would be "administered" by ignoring it (or by talking to the players).

mick Sun Dec 08, 2002 02:18pm

Flow Control
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins

Unless the "push" hindered the opponent from making normal defensive of offensive maneuvers, it would be "administered" by ignoring it (or by talking to the players).

bob,
That works!
We haven't talked about "Flow Control" for a long time.
mick

mick Sun Dec 08, 2002 02:55pm

Re: Re: Flow Control
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
We haven't talked about "Flow Control" for a long time.[/B]
Ah yes,mick,I learned about "flow control" very early in my career.
http://www.gifs.net/animate/beer1.gif [/B][/QUOTE]

JR,
A lot of us majored in Fluid Dynamics. :cool:
mick

Ralph Stubenthal Sun Dec 08, 2002 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Nevadaref is completely correct, just wanted to add that in #1, if A1 is in the act of shooting but has not yet released the shot when the foul occurs, it would still count if it goes.
So if you had
A1 jumps to shoot a three
B2 fouls A3, whistle just as A1 releases shot, basket goes;
Count the bucket A gets ball out of bounds or shoots bonus...

For clarification, if B2 fouls A3 after the shooter has started his habitual throwing motion but before the ball is released, the basket still counts and A gets the ball. Of course if the off ball foul is by a teammate, the ball is dead immediately.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1