The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Table Says It's the 5th Foul But It Isn't (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/64116-table-says-its-5th-foul-but-isnt.html)

Spence Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:14pm

Table Says It's the 5th Foul But It Isn't
 
Foul called on A4 on a shooting fou. Table says it's his fifth. Team A doesn't believe that's right. Book says it's "5." A4 goes to the bench. During a timeout an assistant coach asks an official "who did you call the foul on when you called the moving screen?" Official says A45. Book thought it was A4. They change the foul and A4 re-enters.

I assume that's allowed, correct?

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:24pm

Correct.

BktBallRef Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:49pm

Scorekeeping mistakes can be corrected up until the approval of the final score.

NoFussRef Sat Mar 05, 2011 01:55am

Hmm.... what if?
 
There are times, youth games especially, I wonder what it would be like if we went to a running clock, and we the officials kept the book and clock? Soccer folks do it this way right? If every time I called a foul I take a lil card out of my pocket and write the player and team foul down, might make it pretty easy to tell what the count is. For those of us that have ever worked a game that required constant "baby sitting" of the timer to remind them to "start the clock!!!!" Hmmm....


I guess trying to keep up with the running score could get tricky...

But those folks in the stands ALWAYS seem to know what the score is anyway right? :D

mbyron Sat Mar 05, 2011 07:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 736704)
Foul called on A4 on a shooting fou. Table says it's his fifth. Team A doesn't believe that's right. Book says it's "5." A4 goes to the bench. During a timeout an assistant coach asks an official "who did you call the foul on when you called the moving screen?" Official says A45. Book thought it was A4. They change the foul and A4 re-enters.

I assume that's allowed, correct?

In general, if the sub has entered the game, A4 must sit until the clock has legally started, even if you fix it immediately.

In your sitch you say "during a timeout," so I'm guessing that time had run, and so the return was legal.

Mark Padgett Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 736727)
If every time I called a foul I take a lil card out of my pocket.....

Yeah, you could keep the card in your jersey pocket inside the pocket protector next to your slide rule. :p

BillyMac Sat Mar 05, 2011 02:31pm

Sansabelt Slacks ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 736807)
You could keep the card in your jersey pocket inside the pocket protector next to your slide rule.

Any true, red blooded, American, self respecting, slide rule aficionado wouldn't be caught dead with their trusty slide rule in their pocket. They would carry it in a leather case, attached to their belt, the way that God, and John Napier, intended it to be carried. Chicks really dig it when you wear your slide rule on your belt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1