The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How Often Do You See This ??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/64014-how-often-do-you-see.html)

BillyMac Thu Mar 03, 2011 09:52pm

How Often Do You See This ???
 
<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/nOakJyu7jSc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Nevadaref Thu Mar 03, 2011 09:55pm

Great clip. However, the video is incorrectly titled. The ball doesn't get stuck, it comes to rest on the flange. Of course, all of us know that this results in an AP throw-in unless there was a FT to follow (or a throw-in to be awarded after the FT attempt).

Terrapins Fan Thu Mar 03, 2011 10:16pm

Never or only on YouTube.

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 03, 2011 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 736410)
How Often Do You See This ???

I've seen it twice. Once on the front cover of the website you saw it, and now here.

I thought chseagle was going to post it. :eek:

It does go to show you that these types of plays happen! I'm glad there is a ruling for it. :)

JRutledge Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:49pm

I have seen it a few times in my career. Certainly not a common thing, but it has happened where I was working a game.

Peace

Adam Fri Mar 04, 2011 07:35am

UConn has a men's team?

grunewar Fri Mar 04, 2011 08:01am

Well, something like that......
 
Actually happened to me just the other night in warmups before the game (B16/18).

Don't know exactly how it happened, but similar to the guy in the crowd at the end of this video, I heard some applause and joking around and looked at the opposite end of the court, and the ball was resting on the flange. Weird.

Never had it in a game though.

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 736492)
UConn has a men's team?

They're new... as of January 1, 2011. :p

grunewar Fri Mar 04, 2011 09:39am

Meanies!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 736492)
UConn has a men's team?

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 736516)
They're new... as of January 1, 2011. :p

Ahem! ;)

Having completed his 24th season as head coach at UConn and his 38th year as a collegiate head coach, Jim Calhoun has unquestionably stood the test of time as one of college basketball's legendary leaders and reached two other career milestones in 2008-09---membership in the ultra exclusive 800-win club and a third trip to the NCAA Final Four.

His coaching success story includes winning two NCAA National Championships (1999, 2004) at Connecticut, earning basketball's highest honor while still an active coach, election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, and induction in 2006 with the other greats of the game as a member of the Founding Class of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.


And NO, I am NOT a stalker! There are NEW Officials here and we don't want to spread mis-information ya know (birds excluded).

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 736502)
Actually happened to me just the other night in warmups before the game (B16/18).

Don't know exactly how it happened, but similar to the guy in the crowd at the end of this video, I heard some applause and joking around and looked at the opposite end of the court, and the ball was resting on the flange. Weird.

Never had it in a game though.

I've had the ball get stuck between the rim and backboard before, always because of a shot. But this season, I had it stuck there because of a missed free throw that rolled off of the flange!

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 736529)
Ahem! ;)

Having completed his 24th season as head coach at UConn and his 38th year as a collegiate head coach, Jim Calhoun has unquestionably stood the test of time as one of college basketball's legendary leaders and reached two other career milestones in 2008-09---membership in the ultra exclusive 800-win club and a third trip to the NCAA Final Four.

His coaching success story includes winning two NCAA National Championships (1999, 2004) at Connecticut, earning basketball's highest honor while still an active coach, election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, and induction in 2006 with the other greats of the game as a member of the Founding Class of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.


And NO, I am NOT a stalker! There are NEW Officials here and we don't want to spread mis-information ya know (birds excluded).

But does he have a court named after him? :eek:

stir22 Fri Mar 04, 2011 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 736532)
I've had the ball get stuck between the rim and backboard before, always because of a shot. But this season, I had it stuck there because of a missed free throw that rolled off of the flange!

AP arrow in this scenario too, right?

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stir22 (Post 736536)
AP arrow in this scenario too, right?

Correct, since in my case the ball became live with a rebound because the last free throw was missed. (And not a throw-in.)

grunewar Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:23am

How's about if as the ball becomes dead and sits there, right before you put air in your whistle, B1 jumps up and knocks it off? Whatcha got?

bob jenkins Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 736546)
How's about if as the ball becomes dead and sits there, right before you put air in your whistle, B1 jumps up and knocks it off? Whatcha got?

Does the whistle make the ball dead, or is it already dead? (Rhetorical question)

stir22 Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 736546)
How's about if as the ball becomes dead and sits there, right before you put air in your whistle, B1 jumps up and knocks it off? Whatcha got?

i've got a player who can jump a whole lot higher than me.

seriously though, i don't know...off to the case book!!

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:04am

The distance from backboard to ring is less than the diameter of the basketball, so if anyone touches the ball while it is on the flange, they commit basket interference.

In fact, it'd be BI unless the ball had started falling after rolling off the flange.

M&M Guy Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 736552)
The distance from backboard to ring is less than the diameter of the basketball, so if anyone touches the ball while it is on the flange, they commit basket interference.

In fact, it'd be BI unless the ball had started falling after rolling off the flange.

Are you answering grunewar's question? If so, how does Bob's question play into the equation?

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 736554)
Are you answering grunewar's question? If so, how does Bob's question play into the equation?

Sorry - I made an assumption (but I shouldn't've) that it was clear that the ball was still live.

My comment was to state that even if you rule that the ball is still live while it is stationary, and anyone jumps touching it, it is a violation. Having a situation like this is against the spirit of the purpose of rules, so it should become a dead ball immediately - and go with the arrow.

So the only way to rule it live it when you believe that a player can touch the ball without violating and that means the ball hasn't come to a stop, and even then, the player has to wait until the ball has started to fall.

M&M Guy Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 736555)
Sorry - I made an assumption (but I shouldn't've) that it was clear that the ball was still live.

My comment was to state that even if you rule that the ball is still live while it is stationary, and anyone jumps touching it, it is a violation. Having a situation like this is against the spirit of the purpose of rules, so it should become a dead ball immediately - and go with the arrow.

So the only way to rule it live it when you believe that a player can touch the ball without violating and that means the ball hasn't come to a stop, and even then, the player has to wait until the ball has started to fall.

Ok, good. I had a feeling you knew that, but just wanted to check. ;)

JugglingReferee Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 736557)
Ok, good. I had a feeling you knew that, but just wanted to check. ;)

It's always good to be clear, especially if I muddied the waters. :D

grunewar Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:56am

Invitation to Mr. BillyMac......
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 736559)
It's always good to be clear, especially if I muddied the waters. :D

Opportunity to post excellent clip from "A Few Good Men."

Col. Jessep: Have you ever spent time in an infantry unit, son?
Kaffee: No sir.
Col. Jessep: Ever served in a forward area?
Kaffee: No sir.
Col. Jessep: Ever put your life in another man's hands, ask him to put his life in yours?
Kaffee: No sir.
Col. Jessep: We follow orders, son. We follow orders or people die. It's that simple. Are we clear?
Kaffee: Yes sir.
Col. Jessep: Are we clear?
Kaffee: Crystal.

BBrules Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:28pm

I saw it in a GJV scrimmage game last fall. After the whistle, one of the high school boys jumped up and knocked it off the flange.

refiator Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:25am

I've seen it once. This is a violation by the free thrower as the free throw ends.

NoFussRef Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 736926)
I've seen it once. This is a violation by the free thrower as the free throw ends.

That is my understanding, on a FT it is a violation, on a FG try it is AP Arrow.

Had the ball get lodged between rim and glass on a 3pt attempt this weekend.

Sadly enough, I must admit I kicked the crap out of this call at the start of this season, ruled a FG "wedge" a violation. About a one trip up the floor later, I am kicking myself when I realize what I had done. Won't make that mistake again, and thankfully didn't this weekend.

JRutledge Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 736926)
I've seen it once. This is a violation by the free thrower as the free throw ends.

Why is this a violation by the thrower? They did nothing wrong. This is no different if a shot is attempted and the same thing happens during any other aspect of the game.

Peace

NoFussRef Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 736932)
Why is this a violation by the thrower? They did nothing wrong. This is no different if a shot is attempted and the same thing happens during any other aspect of the game.

Peace

JR, nice catch... poor choice of words on my part. I do not believe it to be a "Violation", rather a "missed FT".

So if first attempt on a 1-and-1, it is not an AP arrow, but a missed FT and turnover.

JRutledge Sun Mar 06, 2011 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 736935)
JR, nice catch... poor choice of words on my part. I do not believe it to be a "Violation", rather a "missed FT".

So if first attempt on a 1-and-1, it is not an AP arrow, but a missed FT and turnover.

No, still an AP situation on the first FT if this happens. Yes they miss the FT, but no one has possession. It cannot be simply a turnover if the FT team has the arrow. The FT is missed yes, but not a violation.

Peace

NoFussRef Sun Mar 06, 2011 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 736938)
No, still an AP situation on the first FT if this happens. Yes they miss the FT, but no one has possession. It cannot be simply a turnover if the FT team has the arrow. The FT is missed yes, but not a violation.

Peace

Grrr. I hate to have to admit to swallowing a myth hook-line-and-sinker, but you now have me 99% convinced. Can you or anyone cite (NFHS) where I can find this?

I am starting to think the FT sitch is not the same as an inbound pass "wedge". About the only time I KNOW it is a violation and not AP.

JRutledge Sun Mar 06, 2011 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 736939)
Grrr. I hate to have to admit to swallowing a myth hook-line-and-sinker, but you now have me 99% convinced. Can you or anyone cite (NFHS) where I can find this?

All you can do is look under 9-1-3, but there is no reference to this being a violation, which means it is not a violation. And 6-4-3d explains why this is an AP situation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 736939)
I am starting to think the FT sitch is not the same as an inbound pass "wedge". About the only time I KNOW it is a violation and not AP.

It is only a violation if no one touches the ball on a throw-in.

Peace

NoFussRef Sun Mar 06, 2011 01:52am

DOH!!!!! :eek:

ALTERNATING POSSESSION: To start the second, third, and fourth quarters, the throw-in shall be from out of bounds at the division line opposite the scorers’ and timers’ table. An alternating possession shall occur when a held ball occurs; the ball goes out of bound simultaneously touched; a simultaneous free-throw violation occurs; a live ball becomes lodged or stuck on the rim; a double personal or double technical foul occurs.

FT is a live ball once at the disposal of shooter. So......

Doh! Pride swallowed, Myth Busted, and :o thanks JR.

BillyMac Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:02pm

Earthquake, Tornado, Hurricane, Tsunami, Big Cement Truck Passing By ???
 
How long do you wait?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1