The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Can't believe that this happened (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/63576-cant-believe-happened.html)

Adam Mon Feb 28, 2011 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcdanrd (Post 735100)
Sorry guys, I'm not buying. The case play used was specifically for a 1 and 1 situation when the ball would become live when at the disposal of the thrower and stay live when the free throw was missed. In this case, where two free throws are to be administered, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent the free throw will not be successful, regardless of what the officials told the players before the first throw, the ball should have been dead after the first throw per rule 6-7-2a. The error is therefore correctable per rule 2-10-1e (erroneously counting or canceling a score) and 2-10-3 (If in article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball, which apparently it was)

The error occurs when the official announces "1" or "1 and 1". That announcement leaves the ball live once it misses, thus B's layup is a live ball score. Whether it should have been dead is irrelevant; the official's error changed that.

Adam Mon Feb 28, 2011 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 735046)
Casebook:
8.6.1 SITUATION:

....In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)

I know I could look around and find out, but is anyone aware of another case play that uses 2-3 as its rule reference?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1