The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 223

Absolutely. This is exactly why the play is legal and why it's not considered part of a dribble for the ball to be thrown off a player's own backboard.


Okay, for the sake of discussion, should we consider that player/team control ended when A1 intentionally threw the ball off of his own backboard so that he could recover it?

I'm not arguing that the play is legal. I think the case book makes this absolutely clear. Logically I just think this is wrong. A1 is not shooting and has not lost control of the basketball. There is also nothing in the definitions--that I've found--that says throwing the ball against the backboard is a try.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1