![]() |
6 Players on court:Late Call
Another intramural situation (questionable officiating, I know). Timeout is called, after timeout both teams come back onto court with Team A-5 players, Team B- 6 players. Team A takes the ball out and scores a 3 point field goal, while coming back on defense Team A can't seem to match up and Team B scores a 2point field goal. It is then realized that Team B has 6 players on the court (no wonder someone was open).
Officials come to this conclusion- Technical on Team B for too many players on court. Take Team B's 2 points away, but leave Team A's 3 points. Turns into a 7 point swing after Team A makes both free throws. What is the correct way to handle a later realized 6 player call? Can you take away points? |
NFHS rules: Technical foul for 6 on the court if discovered while being violated.
Points scored should not be taken away from either team. |
Under NFHS and NCAA rules, we can not take points away in this situation.
|
I had a correctable error situation this year in rec ball that was weird. The coach was not very happy about it. With rec ball in my league we have younger kids running the scoreboard and they dont have a clue. We asked to hear when it was 6 fouls because there is no team fouls on the scoreboard where we were. Anyway I call a foul on B1 and go to report. Spot underneath. My partner inbounds the ball and as A1s 3 point shot is in the air I blow my whistle because the girl scoring said that is 7 team fouls. The ball went in. Count the 3 and shoot 1 and 1. A weird 5 point play.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Can we (officials) count to 5?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It seems to me that most of the post about 6 players on the court for one team (there are some where the 6th player runs off the bench) are just plain preventable if "we" do our jobs.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
True story from this week: A to inbound adjacent to their FC. Both A and B making multiple subs. Some kerfluffle (I forget what) in the FC delays the play a bit. All officials count 5 players per team and the ball is put in play. Unbeknownst to us, B6 thought that B was going to be inbounding the ball, so he's standing way at the other end of the court and right by the student section. No one saw him. Why would we even look down there? :/ |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I count every time, but I've still had to make the call and I didn't lose any sleep over it. In the end, it's not my responbility. Three of us forgot to count one time, and it was the wrong time. Coach: "Aren't you supposed to count?" Me: "We do try to count, coach, but it's still your responsibility." Coach: silent nod |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13pm. |