The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 14, 2002, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 94

Quote:
Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is not part of a dribble nor is it the start and end of a dribble.


Marty, I don't have my rule or case book in front of me and this question got me to wondering. Refresh me if you could: in NFHS rules, can player A start a dribble by throwing the ball as far ahead as he/she likes as long as it comes into contact with the floor first assuming the dribbler does not catch the ball and then start the dribble? In other words, player A throws the ball ahead and:

1. catches the ball after it has contacted the floor, comes to a two-foot stop and then begins the dribble. Violation or legal play?

2. starts/continues the dribble by dribbling the ball after it has contacted the floor. Violation or legal play?

My grammar is horrible, so I hope you understand my question. Thanks for the insight.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1