The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Looking for a rulebook interpretation on a FT (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62747-looking-rulebook-interpretation-ft.html)

smokeybandit Fri Feb 18, 2011 09:27am

Looking for a rulebook interpretation on a FT
 
Here's the rule snippet:

RULE 9
Section 1. Free Throw
-Art. 2. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
e. No player shall enter or leave a marked lane space..

--------

What does "disposal" really mean? When the ref tosses the ball to the shooter? Or when the shooter has possession of the ball?

In the Penn State/Minnesota game last night, Penn State (shooting team) was called for a lane violation when the rebounder (at the coach's request) left the lane, just as the referee began to toss the ball to the shooter. Player was called for the violation because of it.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 18, 2011 09:39am

See NFHS case book play 8.1.1.

Scrapper1 Fri Feb 18, 2011 09:41am

Ball is at the team's disposal when it is CAUGHT by the free thrower. So if the player leaves the lane space while the ball is being bounced, that's not a violation.

However, once the ball is caught, it is ALSO a violation for any player NOT in a marked lane space to be inside the 3-point arc or below the free throw line extended.

So, my guess is that the player backed out before the ball was caught but was still inside the 3-point arc after the ball was caught. Therefore, violation.

smokeybandit Fri Feb 18, 2011 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 731555)

So, my guess is that the player backed out before the ball was caught but was still inside the 3-point arc after the ball was caught. Therefore, violation.

You're right...that was probably the call. Though I'd have to go back and see when the whistle was blown.

mbyron Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by smokeybandit (Post 731547)
In the Penn State/Minnesota game last night, Penn State (shooting team) was called for a lane violation when the rebounder (at the coach's request) left the lane, just as the referee began to toss the ball to the shooter. Player was called for the violation because of it.

That's not quite what I saw. The PSU player in the lane spot to the shooter's right stepped out while the ball was bouncing, and stepped back in as the shooter received the ball.

But the PSU player in the lane spot to the shooter's left stepped out after the shooter had the ball and took 2 steps before the whistle blew. I suspect that was the violation that was called.

refiator Sat Feb 19, 2011 01:24am

This was a recent NFHS clarification. It used to be that once the referee released the ball toward the shooter, it could be considered "at the shooters' disposal", which really made no sense.

justacoach Sat Feb 19, 2011 03:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 731839)
This was a recent NFHS clarification. It used to be that once the referee released the ball toward the shooter, it could be considered "at the shooters' disposal", which really made no sense.

The recent NFHS editorial change that clarified 'at the disposal' was specific to situation involving a made (or awarded) basket (4-4-7d) and can be found on page 2 of the current rules book

I am certain that the rules book definition of 'at the disposal' has always been pretty unambiguous in regards to FTs. Have experienced some *******ized interps as to 'on the release' vs 'on the catch' in administering a FT.
4-4-7b pg 26


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1