![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Pertinent NCAA case book play:
A.R. 122. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a breakaway layup. Near A’s free throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks. RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use. (Rule 4-70.5)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double. |
|
|||
|
Sure...play on. This rule is the same at all levels FYI.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
I Was Once A Sceptic ...
9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) Nothing about a shot, or a try, in the caseplay, but it has to be a shot, or a try, to allow A1 to legally catch the ball.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
He just wants to be Kobe and Lebron. :shrug:
As others observe, legal at all levels, provided it's the player's team's backboard. On the opponent's backboard you could have an illegal dribble.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
And the preventative medication is, well, you know, the first rule of officiating.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Everytime You Flush I Hear Ca-Ching ...
As well as my career.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Feb 17, 2011 at 08:12pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Public Address announcer/ Play by play | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 34 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm |
| Force play or time play? | Rita C | Baseball | 44 | Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am |
| Force play or tag play | dsbrooks1014 | Baseball | 3 | Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm |
| Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |