![]() |
disgruntled player
NFHS
After a timeout with team A trailing by 15 points late in the game, I am ready to hand the ball to A1 in the backcourt for a throw in. As I reach out to hand him the ball, he slaps it off my hand. It lands inbounds and slowly bounces to A2 about 15 feet inbounds who picks up the ball and the game proceeds. What would you do? Let it go? Make him redo the throw-in? Thoughts?? |
I wouldn't do anything. What provision of 7-6 did he violate?
If you felt he showed you up, you could T him up, but I would have to know more about the situation to think that would be justified. |
Tempted
I would be tempted to whack him just for him trying to show me up:mad:
|
I wouldn't make him redo the throw-in but perhaps a T is warranted depending on what has happened prior in the contest.
I bounce it to them in the b/c & when I do hand it off in the f/c, its rarely hand to hand. I generally stick it in their chest, unless its a girls game of course. |
he just slapped the ball right? If he would have slapped my hand/arm while slapping the ball I'd have whacked him. But otherwise I would probrably just had a quiet word of warning with him.
|
Redo the throw-in and let the player know NOT to slap the ball out of your hands.
|
i've got nothing...(don't let your ego get in the way and cause you to "get him back for showing me up" and give him a T). it's not a big deal...
|
No T. But definitely say something to him. Mentions one of his positives, such as good ball control
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Doesn't the throw-in have to be "controlled" (for the lack of a better word, I know there's no player/team control on a throw-in) by the thrower-in?
In my sophomore season, I bounce-passed the ball to thrower-in A1. She bobbled it, and it went right to A2, her intended target and the only player within 35 feet. I let it go, but I was told later that was wrong. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
My favorite (and I may have mentioned it here before). Official near halfcourt ready to administer throw in with A1 OOB. (A1 and A2 only players in the area.)
Mr. Official, instead of tossing ball to A1 for throw in, bounce passes in bounds to A2. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But even when there's no admin, the rule is the same for this; nonexistent. In your play, if A1 had fumbled the ball into a violation, get it back and readminister. Otherwise, play on. |
Quote:
|
When I first saw this thread title.....
.....I thought it had to do with my signature. :p
|
Unless the player hits me, I've got nothing. I presented the ball to him for a throwin and he made a throwin.
|
Benjamin Franklin ???
Bounce when you can, hand when you must.
|
Quote:
Play: A1 attempts a shot...the ball bounces off the rim...A2 "controlls a tap" into backcourt. A3 recovers the ball in backcourt. Watta ya got? |
Quote:
I'm not talking about a play where establishing team control is an issue. I mean controlled in the sense that the player meant to tap the ball inbounds and didn't merely lose control of the ball or never obtained control of it. |
Quote:
|
Abs??
Like others have said, HTBT... If the kid was acting like a jerk, this could be the last straw. For me, I guess it depends on what, if anything, the player might have done earlier in the game... I'm not sure just slapping the ball would warrant a T, but it might if there was more to it.
I T'ed a kid this year because he threw the ball at me... sort of. It was mostly an ABS. I had called an off-ball foul (on a different player) and was going toward the table to report and the ball bounces off my shoulder -- hard bounce-pass, at me, apparently. I continued with my report and then turned around to warn the kid, only to find him arguing with my partner about what he did. I wasn't going to, really, I was just going to warn him. Never mind. Whack. He'd had a bad attitude and was whiny about several calls already. Enough. Coach: What did he do?The kid sat for the next quarter and a half. |
On the OP, for me its factors....did he have attitude doing it?, was he responding/payback to you/crew for something he disliked previously?, could he have simply been tired/winded and that was the way his body just happened to move at that moment?. There's a whole slew of X factors there....factors and judgment , that's what I would boil it down to, so I have no say as to what I would do, because I wasn't there to see all of the game to be able to say how/what to call.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05pm. |