The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   No time outs remaining, buy TO with T-foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62572-no-time-outs-remaining-buy-t-foul.html)

NoFussRef Wed Feb 16, 2011 01:52am

No time outs remaining, buy TO with T-foul?
 
Correct any of this that is incorrect (NFHS)

If team-A has no time outs remaining ("times out remaining" for some of you :rolleyes:) and requests a TO it is a direct T on coach. They are STILL granted the TO but when we return team-B is shooting 2 and get possession.

?

just another ref Wed Feb 16, 2011 02:06am

Team technical, not direct on the coach.

Adam Wed Feb 16, 2011 07:17am

It's a T, but not direct.

BillyMac Wed Feb 16, 2011 07:32am

Soon To Be Published ???
 
If a team requests and is granted an excess timeout, then a team technical foul is charged. The penalty for an excessive timeout is assessed when discovered.

mbyron Wed Feb 16, 2011 08:24am

10-1-7.

Note that the team technical foul is for requesting an excess time-out.

NoFussRef Wed Feb 16, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 730597)
10-1-7.

Note that the team technical foul is for requesting an excess time-out.

Right. I read through 10-1-7 in an outdated NFHS book. I guess the question that I still have is if during live ball, coach without any TOs remaining REQUESTS a TO and they are assessed an team T-foul (indirect), are they still granted the TO or are their 5 players to remain on court for the 2 T-freethrows and we move right along with the throw-in. ???

tref Wed Feb 16, 2011 02:44pm

Grant the t/o no indirect to coach on any Admin Ts.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 16, 2011 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 730839)
Right. I read through 10-1-7 in an outdated NFHS book. I guess the question that I still have is if during live ball, coach without any TOs remaining REQUESTS a TO and they are assessed an team T-foul (indirect), are they still granted the TO or are their 5 players to remain on court for the 2 T-freethrows and we move right along with the throw-in. ???

They still get the TO.

NoFussRef Wed Feb 16, 2011 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 730845)
They still get the TO.

Thanks for clearing this up. I have always tried to avoid this sitch by clearly communicating to both coaches their remaining TOs or lack thereof.

Had a coach request a TO last night and while they were huddled it was brought to my attention that he did not have a TO left. I had book record T foul as team foul, gave other team 2 shots and the ball, but my partner came to me later and said he thought we should not have allowed the TO just gone with the T-foul and kept going.

Adam Wed Feb 16, 2011 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 730865)
Thanks for clearing this up. I have always tried to avoid this sitch by clearly communicating to both coaches their remaining TOs or lack thereof.

Had a coach request a TO last night and while they were huddled it was brought to my attention that he did not have a TO left. I had book record T foul as team foul, gave other team 2 shots and the ball, but my partner came to me later and said he thought we should not have allowed the TO just gone with the T-foul and kept going.

Be careful about communicating the TOs to the coach. I tell him when he's out but that's it. I've heard too many horror stories about an official relaying erroneous information only to find out later the coach really didn't have any left.

APG Wed Feb 16, 2011 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 730865)
Thanks for clearing this up. I have always tried to avoid this sitch by clearly communicating to both coaches their remaining TOs or lack thereof.

Had a coach request a TO last night and while they were huddled it was brought to my attention that he did not have a TO left. I had book record T foul as team foul, gave other team 2 shots and the ball, but my partner came to me later and said he thought we should not have allowed the TO just gone with the T-foul and kept going.

We are required to tell a coach when he has no timeouts remaining.

APG Wed Feb 16, 2011 03:23pm

Dang it Snaqwell, this is like the 3rd time today you and I have had a reply at the same time! :p

tref Wed Feb 16, 2011 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 730865)
Thanks for clearing this up. I have always tried to avoid this sitch by clearly communicating to both coaches their remaining TOs or lack thereof.

Had a coach request a TO last night and while they were huddled it was brought to my attention that he did not have a TO left. I had book record T foul as team foul, gave other team 2 shots and the ball, but my partner came to me later and said he thought we should not have allowed the TO just gone with the T-foul and kept going.

Actually, we are required to let them know when they are out of t/os.

That guy: DUhhh coach you have 2 fulls & a half *jogs over to the other huddle thinking he's doing something* coach you have 1 full left.

Coach: How many do they have?

That guy: They have 2 fulls & a half sir!

Cant stand working with that guy!! Because when they ask me later, I might say, "IDK sh!t, ask your assistant!"

BillyMac Wed Feb 16, 2011 06:17pm

The Royal We ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 730872)
We are required to tell a coach when he has no timeouts remaining.

"We" meaning the NFHS ???

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 16, 2011 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 730956)
"We" meaning the NFHS ???

"We" meaning an official...as you knew already. What's your point?

APG Wed Feb 16, 2011 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 730956)
"We" meaning the NFHS ???

Can you not tell what I meant? Is this something different in IAABO land? :confused:

BillyMac Wed Feb 16, 2011 06:59pm

When In Austin ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 730961)
Can you not tell what I meant?

Wasn't sure if you were talking about what you do in Austin, or if you were referring to the rule as written in the NFHS rulebook.

BillyMac Wed Feb 16, 2011 07:02pm

One Left Coach ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 730959)
"We" meaning an official?

Not all officials. I've worked with guys that insist on telling coaches that they have one timeout left. Not my cup of tea, and not required by the book.

Adam Thu Feb 17, 2011 08:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 730970)
Wasn't sure if you were talking about what you do in Austin, or if you were referring to the rule as written in the NFHS rulebook.

the way it's written in the book.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 17, 2011 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 730971)
Not all officials. I've worked with guys that insist on telling coaches that they have one timeout left. Not my cup of tea, and not required by the book.

That doesn't preclude them from (also) telling the coach when the team has used all it's TOs, as required by rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1