![]() |
I was at a clinic on last night, and one of the officials showed me a ruling from Referee magazine about 2 issues ago. The play was there was a shot, that hit the floor, and then bounced off the floor, and the horn sounds, and then it goes in the basket. The ruling of referee magazine was that the basket counted, and award 2 points. My problem is once the shot hit the floor, the shot was over, and when the horn sounded, the play ended. I am making the assumption that the horn that sounded was for the end of a period or quarter. Does anyone understand the ruling in referee magazine or know what they based it on?
|
This was in the Oct. issue and, of course, it is wrong. They list the correct answers as "a" - the goal counts and "c" - two points are awarded. The true correct answer is "b" - the goal does not count. Of course the period ends on the horn unless there is a shot in the air and once the ball hit the ground the shot ended.
I expect a correction in the Nov. issue, which I haven't received yet. There was a correction on another case in the Oct. issue, so they do recognize their mistakes. |
thanks Mark, I had a long arguement with a fellow official on this play. I knew I was right, and went to the book, but they were hung up because it was in Referee Magazine. I told them that the rule book is the guide and not Referee Magazine. They refused to listen, and there whole area is sold that the ruling in Referee Magazine is correct. Please let me know when the correction comes.
|
If you're friend thinks REFEREE is correct just because they're REFEREE, he has a lot to learn. They constantly have mistkaes in their quizzes. Happens all the time.
|
When Rut started quoting from magazine articles in REFEREE, they lost all credibility with me. :-)
Z |
I will be a life long subscriber.
Quote:
Peace |
Huh? You should be scuurred. :-) <---- (note smiley face once again)
Z |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm. |