The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Whats the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6214-whats-call.html)

Bchill24 Fri Nov 08, 2002 01:14pm

During a designated spot throw in by A-1. A-2 steps out of bounds next to A-1. Is this a technical foul or violation?

Dan_ref Fri Nov 08, 2002 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bchill24
During a designated spot throw in by A-1. A-2 steps out of bounds next to A-1. Is this a technical foul or violation?
Taking a test, eh? Why don't you give us all the questions at one time instead of dribbling them out one at a time :)

Violation.

Tim Roden Fri Nov 08, 2002 02:43pm

Violation if the ball is thrown to him. Technical if not.

In real life. Violation.

Camron Rust Fri Nov 08, 2002 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Tim Roden
Violation if the ball is thrown to him. Technical if not.

In real life. Violation.

Violatoin in both cases.

Rule 9-2-12
Throw-in Provisions. No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

I also agree that there certainly are cases that the T for being OOB unauthorized could occur. However, it should really be determined by what the intent was. Was it deception or the attempt to avoid another rule or was it a mistake? If a second player steps out to take over on the throwin but realizes he can't do that and steps back in, that is a violation. If he steps out on the opposite side of the same endline to lure the defense away from the thrower by immitating a pass along the endline, T.

Mark Padgett Fri Nov 08, 2002 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Tim Roden
Violation if the ball is thrown to him. Technical if not.

In real life. Violation.

Violatoin in both cases.

Rule 9-2-12
Throw-in Provisions. No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

I also agree that there certainly are cases that the T for being OOB unauthorized could occur. However, it should really be determined by what the intent was. Was it deception or the attempt to avoid another rule or was it a mistake? If a second player steps out to take over on the throwin but realizes he can't do that and steps back in, that is a violation. If he steps out on the opposite side of the same endline to lure the defense away from the thrower by immitating a pass along the endline, T.

Camron - don't forget the T on the howler monkey for yelling at you when you call the T. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1