The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in & BC violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62109-throw-bc-violation.html)

Johnny Ringo Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:04pm

Throw in & BC violation?
 
A1 from the endline inbounds ball. The pass is to A2 who is near the division line, but the pass is high. A2 touches, but does not control, ball goes into backcourt where A2 is first to touch?

What do we have?

Same exact play, with the exception of A1 inbounding ball from sideline, FT line extended.

What do we have?

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 728296)
A1 from the endline inbounds ball. The pass is to A2 who is near the division line, but the pass is high. A2 touches, but does not control, ball goes into backcourt where A2 is first to touch?

What do we have?

Same exact play, with the exception of A1 inbounding ball from sideline, FT line extended.

What do we have?

Fed: nothing, as there is no team control during a throw-in, and the tip by A2 is not player control (and is therefore not initiating team control either). A will have a 10-second count to get across half.

FIBA: backcourt violation, as there is team control during a throw-in.

The throw-in location has no bearing on the ruling in either ruleset.

Treeguy Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:10pm

Nothing, a tip is not control, no team control established, play on.

Don't have a book to quote rule numbers.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 728296)
A1 from the endline inbounds ball. The pass is to A2 who is near the division line, but the pass is high. A2 touches, but does not control, ball goes into backcourt where A2 is first to touch?

What do we have?

Same exact play, with the exception of A1 inbounding ball from sideline, FT line extended.

What do we have?

The same thing we have in some other currently active thread discussing the same play -- a legal play.

What difference could the spot of the throw-in make?

You've posted here enough to know this. :confused:

APG Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:13pm

Legal under NFHS and NCAA rules.

Johnny Ringo Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:39pm

Once again Bob, you have a remark at me in some way. I apologize, again. Could you point to the other thread? I don't often see every thread.

There are many who view this board, but NEVER post. They often don't take my word for it and want further proof. A simple post by me and let them read from all the EXPERTS works and has been a beautiful tool to educate many.

This board often serves a bigger purpose than many of you might know.

In regards to the OP ... it would be a B/C violation in NCAA W because there is team control on a throw in?

APG Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 728323)
Once again Bob, you have a remark at me in some way. I apologize, again. Could you point to the other thread? I don't often see every thread.

There are many who view this board, but NEVER post. They often don't take my word for it and want further proof. A simple post by me and let them read from all the EXPERTS works and has been a beautiful tool to educate many.

This board often serves a bigger purpose than many of you might know.

In regards to the OP ... it would be a B/C violation in NCAA W because there is team control on a throw in?

It would NOT be a backcourt violation in NCAA period. There's a specific exception that allows this.

7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.

BillyMac Wed Feb 09, 2011 07:59pm

From The Files Of The Mythbusters ...
 
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

Raymond Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 728296)
A1 from the endline inbounds ball. The pass is to A2 who is near the division line, but the pass is high. A2 touches, but does not control, ball goes into backcourt where A2 is first to touch?

What do we have?

Same exact play, with the exception of A1 inbounding ball from sideline, FT line extended.

What do we have?

Johnny, you've been around here waaayyy too long to be asking this. You should be providing the answer on this one.

Edit: I see Bob made the same observation.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 728323)
Once again Bob, you have a remark at me in some way.

The :confused: icon means I was wondering why you were asking the question. You know (I'm reasonably certain) the answer, so the need to ask surprised me. That's all.

Raymond Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 728323)
Once again Bob, you have a remark at me in some way. I apologize, again. Could you point to the other thread? I don't often see every thread.

There are many who view this board, but NEVER post. They often don't take my word for it and want further proof. A simple post by me and let them read from all the EXPERTS works and has been a beautiful tool to educate many.

This board often serves a bigger purpose than many of you might know.

In regards to the OP ... it would be a B/C violation in NCAA W because there is team control on a throw in?

Not that Bob needs my help and not that I am trying to pick on you but if that were the case I would think you would just point them to the rule or case play in question or post the rule or case play in your OP.

If YOU started showing them in black&white then maybe "many" would start taking your word for it, instead of ours.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1