The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   more FT Scenarios? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6177-more-ft-scenarios.html)

Troward Tue Nov 05, 2002 02:11pm

Just reading NFHS 7.5.7C (2001-02 rule book) and had several questions?

A1 is shooting the first shot of a one + bonus Free Throw. The basket is made but while positioning for the rebound B2 fouls A2. Would the lane would be cleared for the second attempt and then A2 would also get to shoot one + bonus (or double bonus if 10th team foul)?

A1 is shooting the first of 2 Free Throw. The basket is made but while positioning in the lane B2 fouls A2, this time not in the bonus. The lane is cleared b/c Team A will inbound due to the foul. Now A1 violates on his second free throw attempt. Which team inbounds/why?

A1 is shooting the first shot of two free throws and B2 fouls A1. There was no need for rebounding action since the rebound was not live. Is this a common foul or a dead ball foul?

thanks again
GTW


ChuckElias Tue Nov 05, 2002 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Troward
A1 is shooting the first shot of a one + bonus Free Throw. The basket is made but while positioning for the rebound B2 fouls A2. Would the lane would be cleared for the second attempt and then A2 would also get to shoot one + bonus (or double bonus if 10th team foul)?
Yes, this is correct. The ball will remain dead after A1's second FT. Therefore, the lane is cleared. A2 is entitled to a 1-and-1, so he'll shoot that after A1's second FT. The FT spaces will be occupied for A2's FTs and play will continue as after any "normal" FT situation.

Quote:

A1 is shooting the first of 2 Free Throw. The basket is made but while positioning in the lane B2 fouls A2, this time not in the bonus. The lane is cleared b/c Team A will inbound due to the foul. Now A1 violates on his second free throw attempt. Which team inbounds/why?
Team A will inbound at the spot closest to B2's "rebounding" foul. A1's violation ends his FT, but it does not cancel the penalty for B2's rebounding foul. The penalty for that foul (a throw-in) must still be administered, unless there is an intervening foul or throw-in violation.

Quote:

A1 is shooting the first shot of two free throws and B2 fouls A1. There was no need for rebounding action since the rebound was not live. Is this a common foul or a dead ball foul?
This is not a dead ball foul since it occurs during a FT, the ball is live. It is, however a braindead foul and B2 should be benched for life. It's a common foul, with no FTs awarded, unless B is over the limit. In which case, I guess A1 would shoot the second of his two FTs with nobody on the lane; and then shoot 1-and-1 with the lane spaces occupied.

Chuck

mick Tue Nov 05, 2002 04:35pm

What Chuck said.
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Troward

Quote:

A1 is shooting the first shot of two free throws and B2 fouls A1. There was no need for rebounding action since the rebound was not live. Is this a common foul or a dead ball foul?
This is not a dead ball foul since it occurs during a FT, the ball is live. It is, however a braindead foul and B2 should be benched for life. It's a common foul, with no FTs awarded, unless B is over the limit. In which case, I guess A1 would shoot the second of his two FTs with nobody on the lane; and then shoot 1-and-1 with the lane spaces occupied.

Chuck
R6-7 The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
Art.7 ...A foul occurs (see exception below)

<u>Exception</u>: <i>The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends when:
2. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.</i>

BktBallRef Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:18pm

Troward, what you have described is a false multiple foul. B fouls, then B fouls again prior to the clock restarting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1