The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two questions from and for newbies (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61748-two-questions-newbies.html)

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 04, 2011 06:01pm

Two questions from and for newbies
 
A newbie asked me these questions last weekend. I thought I'd post them and let some newbies answer them. Fed rules.

A1 to inbound in front court. He throws the ball to A2 who is standing with one foot in front court and one foot in back court. A2, while holding the ball:

1) lifts the foot in the front court then puts it back down in the front court
or
2) lifts the foot in the back court then puts it back down in the back court

Is either of these situations a back court violation by A2?

BillyMac Fri Feb 04, 2011 07:29pm

Why Do I Always Get Picked Last ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 726255)
I thought I'd post them and let some newbies answer them.

Can I play?

chymechowder Fri Feb 04, 2011 07:32pm

my guess:

[sp]violation in 2. no team control during the throw in, so the player can catch the throw in pass anywhere. when he catches it straddling the division line, he is in the back court, because something is touching in the back court. when he lifts his back court foot he is in the front court b/c nothing is touching in the back court. and when he puts his backcourt foot back down he violates.[/sp]

i'm thinking that this is different from dribbling from bc to fc, where the player needs to put both feet and the ball in the front court before he is considered in the front court. of course, could be totally wrong.

add: do spoiler tags not work?

NoFussRef Fri Feb 04, 2011 09:57pm

If a dribbler coming from bc to fc straddling the division line picks up his bc-foot (continues to dribble mind you) and hops on his fc-foot all the way to the lane....

when do you stop your ten count???? (both feet and the ball = fc status)

Adam Fri Feb 04, 2011 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 726290)
If a dribbler coming from bc to fc straddling the division line picks up his bc-foot (continues to dribble mind you) and hops on his fc-foot all the way to the lane....

when do you stop your ten count???? (both feet and the ball = fc status)

When I get to 10.

NoFussRef Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:00pm

+10
laughing my ASSistant coach off!!!!! :D

bigdog5142 Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:58pm

All 3 points across!!!

tjones1 Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdog5142 (Post 726315)
All 3 points across!!!

Only applies to a dribbler.

bigdog5142 Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 726320)
Only applies to a dribbler.

True...that's what I assumed. Re-read the OP...oops!

zm1283 Sat Feb 05, 2011 02:40am

I actually called this tonight as T in a 3-whistle game. V player is dribbling up the court. He picks up his dribble as he gets trapped right at the division line with one foot in the FC and one in the BC. He picks up his non-pivot foot, which was in the BC, and puts it back down in the BC.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1